Cost comparisons

jftr.jpgKind of as a follow-up to my previous post about R.E.M.’s  overpriced Automatic For The People 4-CD set, I was thinking about how this isn’t exactly without precedent. Back in 1991, I was a poor college sophomore and in what can only be described as a fit of insanity, I picked up the 4-CD Barbra Streisand box set Just For the Record… for $60 at the Ames Target. I can still remember that my friend Jeff was with me and I was just dipping my toe in to the river Streisand and decided why not just jump in? I remember feeling like I had just spent a zillion dollars. I will never forget standing there, hemming and hawing, bargaining with myself saying that if I sold my textbooks back like I was planning to, that would easily cover the cost of the box set. Even though I always thought the packaging made it look like a feminine hygiene product, I’m very glad that I bought it because it really was what pushed me into Streisand fandom which culminated last year when I finally saw her live.

So $60 in 1991 dollars is surely at least $90 in 2017 dollars, right? I plugged it into the inflation app on my phone and, sure enough, $60 in 1991 is equivalent to roughly $107 in 2017 dollars. Maybe my complaining was unjustified. Perhaps $90 for the Automatic For The People deluxe edition isn’t so bad after all.

I was talking to my friend Steve and he found the flaw in my theory. Just For The Record… was a huge career retrospective with many unreleased gems from the Streisand vault, whereas Automatic For The People is a single album. Granted, there’s a concert and demos but no B-sides or anything to the extent that Streisand provided on Just For The Record… Still, for all my talk about not buying it, I probably still will end up with it.

Back in the day, I made a mix tape of my favorite tracks on the set. Miraculously, the track list of that mix tape has survived 26 years and I recreated it tonight as a Spotify playlist. I am sure I was the only man on the Iowa State campus that was listening to Barbra Streisand on his Walkman back then, but that’s me all over.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

