Hell on headphones

It’s not unusual for me to go through at least 4-5 pairs of headphones a year – that’s how hard on headphones I am. I also think that they are cheaply made in China and designed to fail after a couple of months, but my abuse of them (e.g. wrapping the cord around my phone, listening in bed) certainly doesn’t help matters. I also have the bad habit of losing them, which is my current state of affairs. Don’t even get me started on the Apple Air Buds. I’d probably lose those before I was home from the store with them.

apple headphones.jpegBecause I lost my headphones, I’m using the Apple earbuds which I know are supposed to be crap but I don’t have a discerning enough ear to be able to tell much of a difference. The only problem is they constantly fall out of my ears because there’s nothing but plastic holding them in place.  The Skull Candy ones I usually buy have little silicone bits on the ends of each headphone so that they stay in your ears. I thought about going out and buying new headphones yesterday, but then I got to thinking – I used to buy the little foam covers for Apple’s headphones from Radio Shack at the mall, but that store is now out of business and it was, as far as I could tell, the only place in town that sold that particular product. And to add insult to injury, it was not terribly uncommon for me to lose the little foam covers either, especially in bed.

Then I went and looked on Amazon to see what I could find. Lo and behold, I could get TWENTY FOUR foam covers for 4 dollars.  Sold.

foam covers.jpg

They say that they will fit Apple earbuds so I should be set.

It wasn’t until this morning that I found a set of 100 for 78 cents, but I’m dubious that they would fit the Apple earbuds so I’m just going with what I have. They’ve already shipped anyway so it’s not like I can stop the order at this point.

At this point, I hope the headphones don’t die before I’ve used all 24 foam covers.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hell on headphones

  1. John says:

    I love my Yurbuds with the molded inserts. I thought I was bad with headphones, but it’s clear you have me beat by a mile.

Leave a Reply

