Phone experiment follow-up

Well, I’m pleased to report that day one of no smart phone at work was a smashing success. I managed to get through a whole day of not having access to social media and the other creature comforts I’ve gotten used to. Not only did I not feel like I was missing out on anything, I was less anxious AND more productive. Even though it’s only the first day, I think that I have made the right decision when it comes to this.

new phone.jpg

This is my new phone. It is not fancy. It makes calls and texts. But more importantly, it keeps me off of social media when I’m supposed to be working, doesn’t buzz in my pocket every half hour to notify me that 5 people liked someone I don’t follow’s tweet. It’s funny, I must have some muscle memory left because I kept reaching for it in my shirt pocket, as if it were my iPhone, each time to find this much less technologically advanced phone there instead. It wasn’t until the end of the day that I was truly starting to miss my iPhone, but that’s mostly because I was done with all my work and was looking for something to fill the minutes. It forced me to find some other things to work on instead of randomly scrolling through Facebook or reading Twitter and Tumblr.

When I got home, I did check my phone and had quite a few notifications, but none of them were life and death. None of them would have changed the course of my day, made me feel better by giving me that hit of dopamine that you get from likes and retweets and what not. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not about to give up my smartphone, but I think this experiment is going to make me realize just how disconnected I was from the world in an attempt to connect to everything.

Meanwhile, I finally got around to naming my new iPod. I had a couple names for it that I thought I had settled on, but when I had it hooked up to iTunes along with my iPhone (which has had its name for quite a long time), there was only one possible name for it.

Screen Shot 2017-09-06 at 8.46.42 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-09-06 at 8.46.54 PM.png

I’m seriously thinking about referring to my little Tracfone as “Boo Boo Kitty.”

 

This entry was posted in personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

