Kylie white vinyl extortion

A friend of mine who lives in Northern Ireland messaged me through Facebook earlier this week asking if I had heard about the white vinyl release of Kylie Minogue’s 2001 album Fever. Re-released in a limited edition run available exclusively at the UK supermarket chain Sainsbury’s, he said he was willing to pick one up for me, much like he had the limited edition blue and red vinyl releases of Madonna’s True Blue and Like A Prayer.

FullSizeRender.jpgSince it was the first time it had ever been available on vinyl, especially in this special edition white vinyl, we both expected it to fly off of shelves. And that’s exactly what’s happened – it has disappeared from Sainsbury’s in no time, but a large number of those have found their way to eBay. And in the transfer to eBay, inflated to what to what I would consider extortion level pricing. Here’s a small sampling.

Screen Shot 2017-05-28 at 7.19.29 AM.png

I love Kylie, and I love the Fever album, but I have better things to do with my $60-100 than pay exorbitant prices for something like this on eBay. Although my mantra is “buy the colored vinyl, you’ll regret it later if you don’t”, I am just going to wait and see if my friend can come through for me. If not, oh well.

Breaking news from the “water is wet” department – the secondary market sucks. From concert tickets to limited edition vinyl, it is not in the spirit in which I’m sure Kylie meant for the record to be enjoyed. It sucks that people are basically buying up the record with the only intention being to sell it to fans that are willing to pay an arm and a leg for it. To paraphrase Christina Crawford – I am not one of those fans.

Now if it were Madonna…that might be a different story!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

