The anti Jack Sprat

Jack_Sprat.jpgSometimes I wish that I was one of those people with depression that when they were depressed, they had no appetite and ate nothing at all. I’m quite the opposite, eating everything in sight trying to fill a void that can’t possibly be filled. I just stepped on the scale and I know it’s the end of the day and you should never do that but I am at an all time high for weight. This has got to stop.

The trouble is that when I’m struggling, like I am now, I think that eating things that taste good will make me feel better. It’s not true and never has been true. It’s just a self fulfilling prophecy really. I eat a lot to try to feel better, then I end up gaining weight which gives me more ammunition to feel bad about myself.  It’s so bad right now I don’t even pretend like I’m being good because I’m totally not.

But I have to try to find a way to, as Cher would say, snap out of it. It’s not good for my physical health or mental health. I can feel my pants not fitting right, all of my T-shirts are just a little too tight. I guess I’ll have to up my exercise game, but I don’t feel well enough to do that.

Excuses, excuses I guess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The anti Jack Sprat

  1. Steve Felton says:

    I’m pretty late responding. There’s an article in Time this week (5/20/17-6/2/17) about weight. Don’t beat yourself up. It’s a constant struggle. Through my 40’s I was about 220. In 2001 I hit 261 and started WeightWatchers. Got down to 175. Felt wonderful. 2004 back to 230. WW again. And back to 175. Even 165 after some sickness. 2 more WW episodes. 2015 at 192. Now 225. I’d be pleased at 205 although the charts say about 190. Just try different things. Exercise has almost no effect. The Time article seems to say that what works is different for different people. So don’t think of it as failure. You just haven’t found the right thing yet.
    P.S. Glad you’re posting again.

  2. Rachel says:

    Very late to respond, but finding myself in the same situation at the moment. Holding on to the thought that at least I’m making progress on my mental health, and trying not to beat myself up in the meantime.

Leave a Reply

