A second chance

300x300.jpgBen Rector’s “Brand New” made my best-of 2016 compilation and has been a favorite of mine ever since.  I discovered it back in January of 2016 and found out about it only because Bandsintown app was recommending his Des Moines concert to me.  I tossed around the idea of going to the concert, but I couldn’t really justify it because I didn’t know that many songs and it was general admission and even though I go to a lot of general admission shows, I really don’t care for them all that much. At nearly 45, give me my damn seat.

Today I got another notification from Bandsintown that Ben Rector had announced a concert nearby – and when I say nearby, I mean EXTREMELY nearby. He’ll be at Iowa State University on August 23rd, which is about a mile from my house. Hell, I could walk there, but it’ll probably be so hot that I won’t want to.

Since he’ll be so close, I decided that I’m going to go this time. Based on the timing, it looks like it’s part of a “welcome back students” type thing, but who cares? I still don’t know many more of his songs than the Brand New album, but I have some time to change that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A second chance

  1. Pingback: Ben Rector recap | Set On Shuffle

Leave a Reply

