More old favorites

I’ve written about my “Old Favorites” playlist before, so this blog post feels like cheating, but I have a really good reason to be blogging about it. For those that don’t know, my “Old Favorites” playlist is an iTunes smart playlist that my friend Matt came up with back before he switched to all streaming all the time. The criteria for a song to make the list is it hads to have been played more than 22 times, but not within the last 3 months.  I frequently ignore it and it gets huge and unwieldy, sometimes coming in at between 300 and 400 songs.  Well, I would like to present this picture as proof that it is not always that way.

unnamed.jpg

It is down to 10 songs total after a few days of very diligent listening. Frankly, I don’t understand how I went 3 months without listening to Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Boy Problems.”  But by the time I go to bed tonight, that playlist will be empty.  Perhaps it will populate with some new songs in the morning, and I’m sure that I’ll ignore it for another 6 months and then do the same thing all over again.

I’ve had to edit the playlist a lot since I first created it. The original minimum play count was 8, a laughably small number now.  That playlist would easily be a thousand songs with that kind of criteria.  I’ve toyed with making the time since last listen 6 months, but just haven’t pulled the trigger on that yet.  A change like that just delays the inevitable and doesn’t really change the dynamic of the playlist.

What I love about this playlist is how it reminds me of songs that have fallen off my radar. Many of these songs were once residents of another smart playlist “Dan’s Favorites” that you can see in my iTunes sidebar if you look closely.

I don’t know that I’ll ever completely throw over iTunes for Spotify, although I definitely go in phases as the binge listening in iTunes over the last few days demonstrates. And until Spotify adds play counts, it is woefully incomplete. I know that they have that data, they just need to show it to me!

This entry was posted in iTunes, Music, playlists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

