Barbarella psychadella

So I got a little bit of Christmas money and because I’m not going to go to many concerts this year (famous last words), I decided to buy a few albums that I’ve had my eye on for a while. Well, and one that was an early morning spur of the moment splurge. It hasn’t arrived yet, but here’s a couple pictures of it.

barb1.jpgbarb2.jpg

Yes, it’s the soundtrack to the 1968 cheese-fest Barbarella. I am not in the habit of buying movie scores on vinyl because I just don’t listen to them that much.  I’m not a movie score kind of guy generally and to consciously sit down and listen to one on vinyl seems weird to me. But I couldn’t pass up this picture disc version. And it was only $20 + shipping, even though some guy on Discogs is trying to sell his for $250. Good luck, dude.

I’ve actually been listening to the soundtrack on Spotify a lot lately – it’s cheesy in that late-60s way that appeals to me. The score is by Charles Fox, who later went on to write the score to 9 to 5. It’s funny, but you can hear echoes of the Barbarella score in the 9 to 5 score. It’s subtle, of course, but it’s there. I think it must be the horns.

Anyway, I watched – or rather, tried to watch – Barbarella many years back. In fact, I even found the post from ELEVEN YEARS AGO. It’s amazing that writing of mine from over a decade ago still lives on the Internet. Anyway, I was not all that kind to Barbarella at the time, but I see that it’s still streaming on Netflix so maybe it’s time I gave it another shot. Maybe I’ll appreciate it more now that I’ve been listening to the music.

Of course, the only part I truly remember is the opening credits and its accompanying theme song, which is frankly the best part of the whole movie. I’ll let you know if the movie has improved with 11 years between viewings.

This entry was posted in Movies, vinyl and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

