From 39 to 50

upward.jpgThis is kind of a quick follow-up post on the first post of 2016, in which I vowed to increase my blogging output. WordPress had sent me an e-mail telling me that I had only made 39 blog entries for the entirety of 2015, and I vowed then and there that I would surpass that amount, if only by one entry, in 2016.

Well, I’m proud to report that I have increased by my blogging output by 28% this year. Not only did I write 40 posts, I ended the year with 50 posts! Now, that’s still a far cry from the glory days of blogging, especially in 2008 when I hit blogging max at 275 posts.  I don’t know that I’ll ever be that into blogging again, but the only way to keep my writing skills up is to work the muscle, so-to-speak.

I’m not going to sit here and say that I am going to blog even more in 2017, but I hope to. With one of my goals being to Internet less, I’m hoping that some of the stuff that I would normally post to Facebook might end up here instead, with at least a couple paragraphs. Does that mean fewer people see it?  Yes, almost undoubtedly. But writing isn’t about getting likes or comments. It’s about, as Madonna would say, expressing yourself. I won’t lie – I like knowing that people are reading and comments are fun and there’s a certain thrill that comes from getting Facebook or Twitter likes, but it’s important to put all that in perspective. I write for me and me alone. If someone happens to find that interesting, well, so much the better.

I’ll probably still write a lot about music. It’s really what sustains me, even if no one else finds it interesting. I’ll try not to write about politics as that makes me feel bad and there are enough people in the world writing about that. I will, however, still continue to fight for what I think is right and defend those that need defending. That you can count on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

