Future plans

2016 is nearly a memory, and as someone on Twitter said, I’m never drinking a bottle of 2016 anything. It’s easy to focus on the bad (mostly because there was a lot of it), but it wasn’t all bad and really, years are just a human construct. When we cross into 2017, celebrities will continue to die, and things may or may not continue to suck. I believe that we have a lot of power over whether or not things suck in our life – sometimes I am not the greatest at remembering that – so here’s a handful of things that I have planned for 2017. Not resolutions per se, but just things I’d like to see happen in the next 12 months.

1 – Lose weight.
Isn’t this on everyone’s list? I started the year at 242 pounds – my heaviest weight ever, and I’m poised to end the year at around the same. This, despite losing 20 pounds earlier this year. It’s funny to look at my FitBit weight tracker. You can see the exact moment that my depression and anxiety took over and I decided I had no fucks to give about my weight. I feel like I would be happy with an early goal of having a BMI of less than 30, which puts me into the merely overweight category vs. the obese category I’m in now. I only need to get to 233 pounds to get a BMI of 29.9.  My secondary goal is to weight less than 100kg (220 pounds.)  That’s kind of a psychological goal and a pretty random one at that, and I know that I won’t get there overnight. Ultimately, by this time next year, I’d like to be 200 pounds, but that requires me to lose 47 pounds in the next 365 days and frankly, that seems very overwhelming and impossible, which is why I have set those two intermediate goals.

2 – Read more, internet less
I set a goal on Goodreads to read 25 books this year. I will probably hit 24 which isn’t too shabby, but I know I spend a lot of time mindlessly loading web pages when I could be reading or frankly, even getting story from watching TV.  There was a Reddit post the other day that asked people that quit Facebook what their tipping point was. While I don’t think I could ever quit social media (how many people dramatically say they’re “quitting Facebook” only to re-emerge 48 hours later?), I know I could cut back on it. Frankly, it’d probably be better for my mental health which hasn’t been the greatest this year. I have lots of books in my to-be-read pile, so I really have no excuse other than my own laziness and desire to just sit at the computer waiting for something to happen. I‘m going to set a goal of reading 30 books this  year just to motivate myself a little bit more when I find myself reloading the same pages over and over and over again.

3 – Worry less about stuff I can’t control
This has been something that I have struggled with for as long as I can remember, but with a corrupt manchild about to become the president, I’m going to have to REALLY get good at it. I know the strategies, I just have to put them into play. For starters, I’m going to focus exclusively on things that are in my sphere of control. Everything else is just wasted energy. It might seem selfish, but I’m going to work harder at putting my own interests first because I have that balance all out of whack. I pour way too much of myself into other people and then have nothing left for me, which leaves me with nothing for other people. I am an empathetic person who plugs into the emotions of others quite a bit, and I have to be more cognizant about just how much I’m plugging into it. Radical self-acceptance and self-care is going to carry me through.

4 – Learn a new skill
I don’t know what it will be yet, but I think it’s going to be knitting. Not the manliest of skills, but I want to learn how to make socks. Now, I realize that I have to learn the basics before I ever get to the complexity of socks, but you gotta start somewhere. Fortunately, Heidi knows how so she could get me started.  I’ve also always wanted to learn to play the guitar, but I don’t know that I ever will. I’ve been saying it for as long as I can remember and I have never done it. I don’t even know how to tune a guitar (although I’m sure there’s a YouTube video that could show me.) So we’ll see.  Maybe my Instagram will be filled with knitted creations or I’ll become that guy at a camp out that can almost play the guitar. Wait, who am I kidding, I’m never going to go on a camp out!

I think that’s it for now.  I’ll feel free to add and remove things from this list, but really, all these things on this list are things I need to do. At least I don’t have to add “drink less” to this list because I already barely drink as it is (the holidays have proven to be a notable exception to this, but back on the wagon starting today.)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Future plans

  1. John says:

    Goal number one: you and I are at the same point, and my goal is the same as yours. Wonder twin powers…activate?

Leave a Reply

