Any Which Way / Scissor Sisters

Scissor_Sisters_Any_Which_Way.jpgI really miss Scissor Sisters. They were one of those bands that, much like the Dixie Chicks, were greater than the sum of their parts. However, I suspect that toward the end of their existence as a band, they were pretty unhappy, so it’s times like these that I am just glad that they existed at all.

Of their four albums, Night Work will always be my favorite, probably because I feel it is the most accurately embodies what Scissor Sisters were as a band. Listening to Night Work is like heading into the seedy part of town where sex and drugs rule only you get to do it from the safety of your own home or car or whatever.

“Any Which Way” exemplifies these traits for me perhaps better than any other song on the record. It’s pretty much straight up about sex, any way that you can get it, especially anonymously. Take these lyrics, for example:

You don’t need reservations
No identification
To give me your relations
Sting me like a bee
Oh I want you to funk me
Your battleship has sunk me
You dip me and you dunk me
Set my body free

It doesn’t get much more libidinous that that, and the reckless abandon is so damn much fun, mostly because it’s safe. As someone who is pretty risk averse, I’m ok with just listening to the activities described in this song than actually participating!

But perhaps my favorite part of the song is Ana Matronic’s spoken breakdown

You know baby
When I was taking my pantyhose out of their egg this evening
I thought: I’m going to find that man that is the right shade of bottle tan
A man that smells like cocoa butter and cash
Take me anyway you like it
In front of the fireplace
In front of your yacht
In front of my parents
I don’t give a damn baby, just take me

I remember thinking during the 2012 election that a man with the right shade of bottle tan, smelling like cocoa butter and cash probably was a pretty accurate description of Mitt Romney. But in light of Donald Trump, I take back every bad thing I ever said about Mitt Romney, who was a decent man with whom I happened to disagree.

But no politics! Let’s just watch this great video for “Any Which Way.” It’s appropriately rainbow-ish and obviously, Jake Shears is raiding my closet  for his clothing choices. PS background vocals by Kylie Minogue who sadly does not show up in the video and probably goes a long way toward explaining why I like the song so much.

This entry was posted in Music, Scissor Sisters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

