Culture Shock / Olivia Newton-John

soul kiss.jpgHere we go again. It’s November and I’m going to blog songs. As I said in yesterday’s post, I’m not going to put the pressure to blog daily on myself right now. But since I’ve been feeling better, who knows what I might be capable of? So we’re gonna give it the old college try and the song we’re going to use to kick it off is off one of the classic albums in the life of Dan – that album being the 1985 Olivia Newton-John album, Soul Kiss.  Throughout most of Olivia’s recording career up to this point, she’d had massive radio hits but her music had been described as “white bread” and “generic.” But in 1985, all bets were off. Madonna was climbing the charts and ONJ had already upped the sex factor with Physical in 1981. This album was go-for-broke and it effectively ended her popular music recording career. But still, it’s probably my favorite of her albums. And “Culture Shock” is one of the 10 reasons that I love it so much.

With “Culture Shock”, it’s quite possible that Livvy sang one of the first songs about polyamory  31 years ago. In the song, Olivia is reluctantly talking to her lover about how she has fallen in love with someone else. But rather than break up, she suggests something else.

I know it’s unconventional
It’s radical, but practical
Why can’t the three of us live together?
It’s a culture shock, but it’s the only hope we’ve got
So tell me, why can’t the three of us live together.

Of course, as a kid all I could think of was “Three’s Company.” During my college years, I got my sister hooked on this album and because it’s what we do, we changed the lyrics of the chorus to be. “It’s a flower shop, and it’s the only hope we’ve got. So Janet! Why can’t the three of us live together?” I was listening to this album last week to keep the afternoon doldrums at bay and I texted my sister to let her know and she replied with “ah, one of the classics” to which I replied “I think you mean camp classics.”  She said “well, that too, but there are so many good memories associated with it.” Not gonna lie, that made me feel good.

While not a single, the song did get a video clip, mostly just of Olivia performing the song. As usual, she left no 80s video cliche unused, but one can hardly blame her for that because who knew they were cliches at the time?

I was talking to my friend Jess about this song and she said “you know, it could be about a man and a woman and them wanting to move in together but she has an asshole cat he doesn’t know about.” That hardly seems radical, but I guess it is practical.

This entry was posted in Music, Olivia Newton-John and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Culture Shock / Olivia Newton-John

  1. John says:

    I now REALLY want this to be about a cat.

  2. ferd says:

    unreal – enjoyed this blog and what a great time.

Leave a Reply

