Outlet covers

So I figure it’s time for a little mental health update because it’s what I’ve been doing. I have had no med changes since the last time that I blogged about it, so I guess that’s a good thing. I continue on the rather remarkable even keel that Abilify has so graciously given to me. It really was the magic bullet for me, the thing that was missing in my armory of weapons to keep the black dog at bay – or at least to render him toothless. That’s not to say there haven’t been anxious moments or even days, because there sure have been, but I’ve been able to redirect myself much more easily than at pretty much any time in 2016, so I’m calling that a win.

I was thinking about how radical and life-changing Abilify was for me a couple weeks back158206-325x216-outlet-cover.jpg and I came up with the following metaphor. For me, Abilify is like those outlet covers you buy when you have toddlers in the house that like to stick their fingers in all sorts of places they shouldn’t. While those particular covers keep little kids from electrocuting themselves, Abilify has served the same purpose for me. Do I want to freak out about money? Sorry, no that outlet is covered so you can’t plug into it. Anxious about the election? That outlet is covered as well (although that cover sometimes comes off – my friend Matt can attest to this as he has to talk me down from election freakouts every now and then.) Work or family drama stressing me out? Bzzzzt. That outlet is covered too. I think you get the point. Basically, I feel like Abilify has made it so I am unable to “plug into” all those things that I used to plug into, those things that fueled anxiety and depression in the past. It’s made for a much happier, healthier and overall more stable Dan as 2016 draws to a close.  As I said, not every day is perfect, but it’s not a perfect world so I take the wins I can get.

I’m going to be blogging songs in November again – I already know what tomorrow’s post will be – but I’m not going to promise that it’ll be every day. While overall I am better, I can’t guarantee what each day will bring so I’m not going to put that pressure on me. But I’m going to blog as close to daily as I can. So stay tuned. Things could get really fun. Or dorky. My money’s on dorky.

 

This entry was posted in mental health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

