Mix CD Redux: Sunday Morning Mix

When Heidi and I were first married, she always used to gently chastise me on Sunday mornings when I would listen to thumping remixes or Madonna’s Erotica album or something equally inappropriate for getting-ready-for-and-going-to-church Sunday morning. In response to that, one day I sat down and thought about songs that might be appropriate for Sunday mornings and I created a mix CD with the very unoriginal title “Sunday Morning Mix.”

img011.jpg
I hadn’t thought about some of these songs since I made the CD, which I am pretty sure was 2002ish. Some comments on my selections:

  • The first song – “Easy” – was a natural choice, because Lionel Richie croons about being “easy like Sunday morning.”
  • Look – there’s Helen Reddy’s “Fifty Percent” which I blogged about recently when talking about Barbra Streisand’s version of the song. Incidentally, I’ve cooled on Babs’ version of the song considerably. It won’t make my year-end CD. I have 19 of 20 spots filled and I keep thinking of things I’ve left off.
  • Speaking of Babs, her duet with Celine Dion, “Tell Him”, makes an appearance. I will never forget how a woman on the Madonna listserv I was on at the time of its release described the two as “not really singing the song, but rather, beating it into submission.” I still like it though.
  • Who the hell are the Charlie Biddle Trio? And how did I ever hear about that song. Well, it was the song that played over the end credits of the Matthew Perry move The Whole Nine Yards. This was still the days of Napster/Audiogalaxy so once I figured out the name of the song, I went and found it and downloaded it. I haven’t listened to it in a really long time but you can bet that I’m going to now.
  • Spandau Ballet’s “True” was the first song I ever sang at karaoke. It was at my cousin’s wedding and I sang it with my brother. It’s one of those songs that is totally in my range but it still a bitch to sing. #firstworldproblems
  • The Michael Stipe guest vocal on “Kid Fears” is still one of my favorite things in the world.
  • Finally, the unplugged version of George Michael’s “Freedom 90” is a wonder. It’s in a different league than the original. I just don’t think you can really compare them. I love the choir on the unplugged version and well, let’s just let it speak for itself.

I went ahead and put together a Spotify playlist of this mix CD. Three songs are missing though (“Fifty Percent”, “Rules” and “Freedom 90 (Unplugged)”  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did on many Sunday mornings back in the day.  I’ll be listening to it today as well.

 

This entry was posted in Mix CD Redux and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

