Generation gap

fruity-dyno-bites1-550x362.pngThe other morning during breakfast, Anna reminded me of the generation gap that exists between me as her parent and her as my daughter. We have this mega-huge bag of Fruity Dyno Bites from Sam’s Club and Anna said to me, “what in the world does fruity crisp rice cereal have to do with dinosaurs?” This, in spite of the fact that they “dino” part is spelled “dyno.”

That’s when it dawned on me that Anna probably has never seen The Flintstones, the animated TV show that was used to market Fruity Dyno Bites in their original permutation Fruity Pebbles. Of course, we never got Fruity Pebbles as kids growing up in the 70s and 80s. When we did, we thought we were in heaven!

I wasn’t even alive when The Flintstones was on TV in firstfruity pebbles.jpg run status. It ran from 1960-1966, but thanks to infinite reruns on TBS, it was as much a part of the pop culture of the 70s as anything else. It’s no wonder that using The Flintstones to market kids’ cereal worked back then.  I notice that they still have brand name Fruity Pebbles, and even Flintstones vitamins. I can’t imagine either of them fly off shelves like they did during my childhood, especially with all the generic knock offs of the cereal and the sheer volume of kids’ vitamins that exist nowadays.

Not surprisingly, it made me a little sad that Anna didn’t get the reference, although thankfully, she was at least semi-aware of The Flintstones. I’m not sure she’s ever seen a single episode – TV reruns just aren’t like they were when I was her age – but I was glad to provide a little cultural enlightenment and education for her over breakfast with cereal that really, to be honest, no one should eat.

This entry was posted in nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

