The cow jumped over the cookies

My late grandmother (my dad’s mom) had a planter in her house that was a big moon with a face. Alongside the moon, was a cat with a fiddle and a dish running away with a spoon. Clearly, it was telling the children’s nursery rhyme “Hey Diddle Diddle.”  It always bugged me though that there was no cow jumping over the moon.

il_570xN.424931656_53xc.jpg

When she died in 1990, I wanted that planter and it was then that my dad told me that it used to be a cookie jar and that the lid had long since been lost. On that lid, was the missing cow, serving as the handle to the lid. God only knows where the lid went to. Maybe it broke, maybe it got lost. In any event, when it came into our possession.

c0126c4fc1eeea8d84803c46dfc9487d.jpg

I don’t know what made me think of this the other night, but I did a Google Image search for the cookie jar and I found quite a few of them. Some of them are for sale on Etsy, others on eBay. I managed to elucidate that it was produced in the 1940s, and that they run from anywhere between $90 and $300 nowadays. If you’re missing the lid though, I imagine that it’s worth considerably less.

I wonder if my parents still have it – I can’t imagine that they would have gotten rid of it. I hope one day that it comes back into my possession, unless it’s in a junkyard somewhere.

This entry was posted in awesome, childhood, family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

