Fifty percent

To no one’s great shock or surprise, I’ve been listening to a lot of Streisand ever since her new album came out – her 35th album! After attending the life-changing experience that was seeing her live, it’s been hard to tear me away from her music. At the concert, she sang a few songs from the deluxe version of the album that is only available at Target – “I Didn’t Know What Time It Was” and “Losing  My Mind.”  However, of the 4 bonus tracks, the one I was most looking forward to was the song “Fifty Percent.”

“Fifty Percent” is such a weird choice to record. It’s not like it’s a well known song from a well known show. And it’s a song that’s basically about cheating. There goes Barbra, making adultery glamorous again. (although I think that Celine Dion’s song “When The Wrong One Loves You Right” is the first song Heidi and I ever said that about.) Let’s listen to Barbra talk about the song and sing some of it. Cameo from Mr. Barbra Streisand himself, James Brolin.

I like Barbra’s take on the song, but for my money, my favorite version of “Fifty Percent” has got to be Helen Reddy’s version from her 1998 album Center Stage. I probably downloaded that back in the Audiogalaxy days when I was just grabbing everything I could like a looter during the zombie apocalypse. But it was definitely the first time I’d heard it and it’s been a favorite of mine ever since. It is also, to my great aggravation, nowhere on the Internet that I can find, so we’re going to have to settle for yet another version of “Fifty Percent” – Bea Arthur’s. Because Bea Arthur is always good in a pinch.

For those of you that will be the recipients of my Best of 2016 CD, you can pretty safely expect Barbra’s version of “Fifty Percent.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

