To Stevie or not to Stevie

stevie.jpg

This is the worst Photoshop job ever.

So I found out last night while I was working overnights that Stevie Nicks is touring this at the end of 2016, starting at the end of October and finishing out before Christmas.

Here’s the thing – I’ve never been to a Stevie Nicks solo show. I’ve seen her live with Fleetwood Mac 3 times (1987, 1997 and 2015), but never solo. I want to go so bad, and almost as if on cue, my friend Kyl messaged me this morning and asked me if I wanted to go. My immediate response is YES YES YES SIGN ME UP. Ticket prices are not even that bad, starting at $49 and maxing out at $150. But (and there’s always a but), I’m waffling.

The first thing is that by the time I see Loreena McKennitt in October with Heidi, I will have been to ten (10!) live shows this year. This is ridiculous. No one needs to go to this many shows. Now granted, many were cheap (Debbie Gibson and Des Moines Pride being the cheapest), but Barbra Streisand was a mint and a half, and most of the shows I’ve seen this year were $50-$100 per ticket affairs.  So it’s expensive. And as I’ve been saying in many posts before this, money is tight around here, so how dare I go gallivanting up to Minneapolis to see Stevie Nicks in what will be my 11th live show of the year? It is kind of appalling.

But then there’s the fact that Stevie is 68. And if we learned any lesson from 2016, it’s “if you get a chance to see your favorite act live, buy the goddamn ticket because they might just end up dead before you get another chance.” As I always say, the fact that we still have Stevie Nicks to kick around at the age of 68 is a miracle in and of itself due to the amount of drugs she consumed during the 70s and the 80s. I honestly don’t think she’s ever been in better health and in finer vocal form. She was pretty amazing at the last Fleetwood Mac show I saw, and to get a chance to hear her sing a bunch of her solo hits that she does not get to perform when she’s with Fleetwood Mac is almost too good of a deal to pass up.

The other thing holding me back is that the show is in Minneapolis in December. Anyone who knows anything about anything knows that there’s a high likelihood that any concert in Minneapolis in December will be accompanied by a blizzard. I drove to Mayer Hawthorne in a semi-blizzard and vowed I would never go to a show in the winter in Minneapolis again. Leave it to Stevie to tempt me to eat my words. I would hate to plunk down the money for a ticket and then not be able to go. I mean, if it were in Des Moines, I’d just drive real slow and get there. But Minneapolis is a whole other story.

So I’m torn. I want to go, but I feel like this is a good opportunity to practice saying “no” and not just do everything that I want to do. The American Express pre-sale is tomorrow and I’m not sure what I will do.  I could say to people that I want it as a Christmas present, but that seems dumb.

I guess we’ll see what I decide.  In the meantime, here’s Stevie singing “Edge of Seventeen” in 2011.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

