Taxes and pizza

I’m up at the crack of dawn today because I am achy and don’t feel good – it’s kind of my new MO, waking up well before my alarm needing to take ibuprofen and feeling flu-ish. As soon as I’m up, it starts to fade, but it kind of sucks. I can’t decide if this is a second viral illness hot on the heels of the one I kicked last week or the same one. Really, it doesn’t matter. I just want to start feeling better soon.
taxes-412-274.jpgI’m also up early today because we’re having our taxes done at 9AM and honestly, I’m a little bit apprehensive. I really don’t have any reason to be, but ever since we had them done 2 years ago and owed more than $10,000 but less than $20,000, I will always approach the tax appointment with a little bit of anxiety. Now, I know how to handle anxiety and really, I’ve done everything I possibly can to guard against a surprise tax bill, but it still bugs me a little bit. And then there was last year, when we went to file, actually got a refund, but then got a call from H&R Block saying that my social security number had been compromised and someone had already filed using it. This started the whole process of reporting identity theft to the IRS and, while nothing untoward seemed to come from it, I guess you might see why taxes leave me a little bit uneasy.

No matter how they turn out, Heidi and I are going to lunch at Gusto’s Pizza in Des Moines afterward. If that’s not something to look forward to, I don’t know what is. I don’t even care how many calories are in it, but the Buffalo Springfield pizza is mine today.

(incidentally, today I am officially 10 pounds down from my highest weight ever. Not that the pizza will help me on that quest, but hey, I’m pretty proud of that.)

This entry was posted in health, taxes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

