Four in a row

I’m off to a rip-roaring start on blogging in 2016.  As of tonight, I’ll have done 10% of my posts to meet my goal of 40 for the year. I’m not pressuring myself to blog daily or anything, and tonight I almost didn’t post anything. But then I thought, why not?  Not everything that is blogged has to be brilliant and let’s face it, most of it isn’t. As Camille Paglia once said “Blog reading for me is like going down to the cellar amid shelves and shelves of musty books that you’re condemned to turn the pages of. Bad prose, endless reams of bad prose!” Well, except for mine of course!

It feels good to be back at this again. I am pulling back on Facebook some, but I do still enjoy Twitter. I’ll be interested to see how long this lasts, because I’ve definitely been here before and have seen a precipitous drop in output after about a week of being really into blogging again.

But for now, I’m just going to keep seeing where this takes me. I think it could be good for my overall mental health. After a bad last quarter of the year, I feel like I’ve got my wits about me again and am back on track. The thing I struggle with is finding time for meditation. I dowloaded the Head Space app and it’s pretty good.  The first 10 meditation sessions are free and are only 10 minutes each, so you think it would be easy to find 10 minutes to do that.  Not so much, especially if you’re me. I’m distracted by shiny new things and am eternally distracted by the Internet. I’m going to keep trying though. It’s all you can do. When you meditate and your mind wanders, it’s not a failure. The success lies in finding your way back to the breath. So I keep trying.

I’ll sign off with my favorite thing I heard today. Marina & The Diamonds doing a sparse piano cover of Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colors.” It’s honestly the first version of the song that I don’t hear Elmer Fudd singing it. It’s really gorgeous.

 

This entry was posted in Random thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

