Shuffle love

ipod shuffle.jpegI have really been in love with my recently rediscovered 1st generation iPod shuffle. It’s been a little bit unexpected as it was lost for several years, deep in a desk drawer that no one ever looked in. It could have easily stayed lost had Heidi not decided to get rid of that desk. But nonetheless, it’s back and it’s pretty fantastic. Frankly, I’m amazed it still works.  I did have to charge it, but it didn’t take long to charge up its little battery and then it was ready to go.

I remember that Heidi bought it for me in the summer of 2005 because my original iPod (a third generation) had died unexpectedly and I was going to be without one. Realizing how important it was to my continued existence, she purchased it for me unbeknownst to me for $99. While I don’t know that it ever got the use of my regular iPod, I think I’ve probably gotten my $99 worth and then some before it disappeared into the desk and went into hibernation.

One thing I love about it is how easy it is to listen to in bed. Pretty much every night, unless I’m so tired I can’t even be bothered to put on headphones, I am listening to something as I fall asleep. Anna marvels at my ability to fall asleep to music as she cannot. It’s so little that you don’t even notice it in bed with you. It’s so sturdy that you can roll on top of it and not break it. I also don’t like listening to my phone in bed as I’m always afraid I won’t hear my alarm and listening to an iPad is just generally not advisable. I do still have an iPod Classic that I will keep till the day I die or it dies (whichever comes first), but lately, it’s been my second choice next to the shuffle.

But my favorite thing is to autofill the iPod shuffle with a random (and usually very bizarre) mix of music from my collection. It’s amazing the stuff that I have in there that I don’t even know I have.  When I first hooked it up in mid-December, I noticed it wasn’t updating play counts, so I restored it to factory settings, reupdated it and voila, it started keeping track of play counts. Even in this day and age of Spotify and streaming, I still take my play counts very seriously. Perhaps too seriously.

It seems strange to me that such an outdated piece of equipment could be so satisfying. Maybe it hearkens back to the early days of iPods when they really seemed like magic. Maybe it makes me remember what it was like to feel younger (more about that in another post), but all I know is that I’m sure glad that Heidi found it.

For the record, this is what my first iPod looked like. Truth be told, I do miss it a little bit.

ipod-3rdgen-big

It’s not easy being obsolete.

This entry was posted in ipod, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shuffle love

  1. Dean Evert says:

    But does it scrobble to last.fm?? 🙂

  2. Steve Felton says:

    I’m a bed Ipod listener. Use my classic from late 2007. I go alphabetically by album title. About 700 albums. Usually one album when I wake up for a bathroom break. Usually I only hear the first couple cuts. When we go on road trips, the albums also go alphabetically. Takes a little over a year for a full cycle. Last night, Zoot Suit Riot. Eager for Abbey Road in the near future.

Leave a Reply

