Don’t Stop The Dance / Bryan Ferry

Bryan-Ferry-Dont-Stop-The-Dan-140105November 1st. It’s that time of year again.  For the third year in a row, I’m going to try to write about a different song every day for the entire month of November. Most of them will have some sort of personal story. Some might not. But I can guarantee that by the end of the month, you’ll have one eclectic playlist.

I always struggle with the first song of the month. It’s kind of like anything else you start. You just want to get started on the right foot. So choosing Bryan Ferry’s “Don’t Stop The Dance” – a song that until yesterday I didn’t even know seems folly, surely there can be no possible story to go with it. But when I heard it yesterday, I knew it would be the first song I wrote about.

I don’t know much about Bryan Ferry. I know he was the lead singer of Roxy Music and that he contributed the song “Kiss & Tell” to the Bright Lights, Big City soundtrack. I’m pretty sure that I heard “More Than This” along the way somewhere, but I always associated it more with the Merchantless-10,000 Maniacs cover than with Roxy Music. This is a sacrilege and my friend Steve will certainly gasp when he reads that sentence.

But I heard “Don’t Stop The Dance” last night when I was watching American Horror Story: Hotel. I haven’t watched anything besides the first season of AHS but the addition of Lady Gaga to the cast made me sit up and take note.  It’s been bloody and gory but, so far, not particularly scary although I can see that changing now that some of the scarier details are starting to get fleshed out. Anyway, one of my favorite things to do is Shazam songs I don’t know that are in movies and TV shows, mostly because I can, but sometimes because I legitimately want to look them up later and give them a proper listen.  Such was the case with “Don’t Stop The Dance.”  It’s a great eighties mid-tempo song that probably would have been more at home on the Bright Lights, Big City soundtrack than “Kiss & Tell” plus it would have been one of those songs that the characters would have actually heard at the clubs in 80s Manhattan.

But back to American Horror Story. Come to find out, someone’s already keeping track of all the songs from AHS: Hotel on Spotify. The Internet is a truly magical place sometimes. I can’t help but wonder if a Lady Gaga song is going to show up eventually. One thing is for certain – she’s a better actress than Madonna, but that’s not exactly a high bar.

So I hope you will all join me for the next 30 days to see what I come up with.  It’s always a fun month of music and I always love feedback. Also, not all the songs are chosen yet, so if you have a favorite, let me know and I’ll see if I can accommodate it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

