Tweet gone wild

I’m not even sure how this happened, but today, I had a random one-off tweet get favorited 700+ times and 200+ retweets. It was something that I said that struck me as mildly humorous, but clearly, it struck a nerve somewhere.

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 9.10.52 PMMy first clue that anything was happening was when I had 11 Twitter notifications between the time I left for work and the time I got to work – something that doesn’t happen to me in a a week most of the time. But then they just kept on coming.

For the life of me, I cannot figure out what’s going on with this tweet.  It’s not hashtagged, it’s not remotely controversial. Hell, it’s not even that good. My first thought was bots. Most of the accounts that were favoriting it or retweeting it seemed kind of fake or bot-ish to me. One of the @ replies had tagged Marina & the Diamonds, so I suppose if people were following that through a list, they’d see it. There is apparently a remixer named Olivia Mutant John but they only have 45 followers on Soundcloud, so I find that extremely unlikely as well.

I think that ultimately, the answer is that it was random. Who can predict what takes off and what doesn’t?  Why do some videos go viral and others that are just as funny never reach a wide audience?  What brings something to the front page of reddit when on another day it would have gotten 3 upvotes? The universe is a weird place, and as I well know, you can pour your heart and soul into something and get two likes on Facebook, but something you basically barfed up randomly in less than a minute is beloved by the masses.

All I can say is I hope that oliviamutantjohn got some new followers. Personally, I still prefer “Olivia Neutron-Bomb” but this works too.

This entry was posted in Crazy, Twitter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

