The future of blogging

bloggerDoes blogging even have a future? Didn’t it die about the same time that social media was on the rise?  I’m just not sure I know anymore.  I’ve had this conversation with myself before, but now, in 2015, it seems somehow different.

Once upon a time, I always directed new friends to my blog because I felt like it really encapsulated who I was as a person, highlighted my interests and represented me more or less authentically.  Now, I hardly ever do because it’s not updated nearly as much as it used to be.  I’ve been struggling with this blog a lot in the last few weeks because although I have the desire to update it and keep writing, I lack the time and the follow-through.  It’s easier to do a Facebook post.  Even though it’s limited to 140 characters, I’m likely to get more response from a tweet.  Tumblr is kind of a mixed bag, as is Instagram, but still, who even reads blog posts anymore?  Once upon a time, the potential existence of this shirt, produced by a good friend and from what is probably my favorite movie of all time would have gotten its own blog post.  As it turns out, it got Facebook and Instagram mentions.

11148695_10152799441390793_5204255620540272815_n

Isn’t this the most amazing thing you’ve ever seen?

I find myself faced with the possibility that this blog has outlived its usefulness, and only 8 posts from 2000 posts.  It’s not widely read, but that’s never been my main point in writing it. Sure, the comments and attention are nice – I am human after all. It’s been a long time since I met a new person via blogging – that happened all the time during the mid 2000s.  That was always the thrill of blogging, stumbling across a previously unknown blog and then starting to e-mail the author based on common interests.  I gotta say, I kinda miss that.

It feels so wrong to leave my blog neglected and un-updated for weeks at a time.  It’s like neglecting a child, only DHS is not likely to come after me because I don’t write in my blog for 10 days.  A part of me wants to retire this one and start anew, but I’m afraid that a new blog would be as neglected as this one has become.  And all I would probably write about is music anyway.

Ultimately, I feel like calling an end to my blogging days would be failure, despite over 10 years at it and nearly 2000 posts. It would be a failure to no one else, but to me, it’d be like giving up on something that once gave me so much joy and pride.  It’s not that I’m not still proud of it – even my stupid posts from the early years of the blog represent me as I was at the time – but I’m just not able to update as much as I would like and it seems to be reaching a smaller and smaller audience, despite posting each entry to Facebook, Twitter and (occasionally) Tumblr.

I love blogging, even though I don’t do it nearly as much as I used to and I lack the ability to keep it updated like I used to.  This is basically related to my love of long-form writing, which seem so out of vogue in our short attention span theater society. It gives me a chance to expound on things that I can’t give justice to in a tweet of Facebook post. Is it awful that this gets updated twice a month when, in years past, I’ve had more than 30 posts in a month?  Is it just changing times? Or is it changing me?  Does it matter?

Blogging about blogging is so meta, I can barely take it, but I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately.  What is the opinion of the peanut gallery?

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The future of blogging

  1. Steve says:

    I don’t always read, don’t always agree, but always find what you post interesting.

Leave a Reply

