Make your dreams come true

A friend of ours was recently in Milwaukee and posted this to his Facebook page.

11133690_766127650167164_3484235162265711259_n

For people of a certain age (my age), that picture brings to mind only one thing – the madcap adventures of Laverne & Shirley. For you young ones out there, Laverne & Shirley followed the adventures of two single girls living in Milwaukee working at Shotz Brewery as bottle-cappers (until they relocated to Burbank after 4 seasons.)  When I was growing up, it was on right after Happy Days and right before Three’s Company on ABC on Tuesday nights. It was must-see TV before NBC thought to use it for their Thursday night line up in the 90s. I think my dad tolerated us watching Laverne & Shirley, but he really hated that we watched Three’s Company.

And when I think of Laverne & Shirley, I also immediately think of a drug store in my hometown where we got our prescriptions filled. It was never very busy, but we knew the owner from church and his daughter was in my class in high school.  We also ended up going to pharmacy school together and were roommates for 3 years. Anyway, the drug store had a front end that always seemed to be dark – although I could be misremembering. One thing that I do remember the front end having is this little gem.

Z0006041

What was it with the 70s/80s and making a board game to go along with every bit of pop culture? I suppose it’s analogous to how video games are made for just about anything nowadays.

I got to wondering – what would the object of a Laverne & Shirley board game be? I did a little bit of searching and the object was (duh) to make all your dreams come true. The way you do this? By collecting the most hours spent out on dates in 1 week.  There’s apparently a diary that you fill up with your dates and what not, but mostly, it seems a bit incomprehensible to me. Clearly, I was NOT the target audience for this game.

The drug store is now closed, but I wonder whatever happened to the Laverne & Shirley board game that was on the shelf.  Did someone buy it before it closed? Did it get thrown away? I hope not, but it doesn’t appear to be worth a whole lot as evidenced by eBay listings.  Some joker is trying to sell one for $99.95 on Amazon – good luck with that.

The last thing I’ll say about Laverne & Shirley is that it did have one of those amazing TV theme songs that we just don’t get anymore. I kind of miss that. I remember this song being on the radio, but I’ll be damned if I can find a full length version of it anywhere.

This entry was posted in Random thoughts, tv and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

