The Taking of Deborah Logan

I have to say that I started 2015 out right – by scaring myself silly with a horror movie.MV5BMTk3NjA3MzcyM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNDY3MjA2MjE@._V1_SX214_AL_

I had read about The Taking of Deborah Logan in this article that summarized the 15 best horror films of 2014. Since I have precious few people that will actually see horror movies with me (and more to the point, I’m too cheap to go to the theater for most movies), I hadn’t seen ANY of them, although I had heard of a couple. I have a soft spot for found footage and the article mentioned that The Taking of Deborah Logan was a found footage film – one of three on their list. As soon as I found out it was streaming on Netflix, I knew I was going to have to give it whirl.

I finally got around to watching it today, and as I tweeted at the end of the film, “after watching The Taking of Deborah Logan, I need blood pressure meds.” The quick and dirty set up of the movie is graduate student Mia is doing her Ph.D. thesis and it involves filming the physical and mental deterioration of a patient with Alzheimer’s disease.  Deborah Logan is the Alzheimer’s patient and her daughter Sarah grants them pretty much unfettered access to their documentary subject. Deborah’s disease appears to rapidly worsen, but something about it makes the documentary team wonder if there could be more than meets the eye to her disease progression?

This would be the point at which I would probably post the trailer or something. Do yourself a favor and DON’T read anything more detailed than what you’ve already read in this blog post and, for the love of all that’s holy, DON’T watch the trailer. It gives away way too much. One of the best things about this movie is I went in knowing virtually no more than what I just wrote in the last paragraph. What follows goes in directions I never expected and kept me on edge through the entire film.  There are plenty of jump scares, but there’s a creepiness that just exudes from the film that I can’t describe. It’s the first scary movie I’ve seen in quite a while that actually scared me.  When my daughter heard me say this, she declared that she will never watch it because if it scared me, there’s no way that she could handle it.

So go check out The Taking of Deborah Logan. It stars Jill Larson, who I swore looked familiar and then realized she was Opal from All My Children! I never watched AMC, but I knew the character of Opal. And who knows, maybe if you tweet about it, you’ll get retweeted by the director of the film as well!

Screen Shot 2015-01-01 at 5.59.04 PM

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Taking of Deborah Logan

  1. Jennifer Collins Skelly says:

    Ooh! Sounds Intriguing! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

