Thank You / Dido

It’s early on ThankDidothankyousgiving morning and I have about 20 minutes to write this post as I’m working today. That’s the thing about my job – we’re never closed, even on holidays!  I don’t expect sympathy for having to work on a holiday as I’m glad to have a job that provides me with a living and that is professionally rewarding. There’s no doubt that I’d rather stay home today because we are having family to the house for Thanksgiving, but Heidi has arranged it so that the meal is one that starts after I get home from work which is nice.

Last year on Thanksgiving, I did a post about Alanis Morrisette’s “Thank U” which is probably my favorite song to include the word “thank” in it. But when I searched my iTunes library for another song with the word “thank” or some derivative thereof to use on Thanksgiving this year, I was pleasantly reminded of Dido’s “Thank You” which I have my sister Wendy to thank for. She introduced me to the full song in probably 2001 after talking about how much I liked the song that was sampled in Eminem’s “Stan.”

It’s use in “Stan” is probably how many people were introduced to this song and really, the sample is brilliant. Like the use of ABBA’s “Gimme Gimme Gimme” in Madonna’s “Hung Up”, “Stan” made “Thank You” an integral part of the song – the sign of a perfectly utilized sample. The early 2000s were a time when I was really into listening to Eminem, misogyny and homophobia and all. It bothers me that I was only slightly bothered by this, but I was drawn in by the clever rhymes and naughty subject material. There’s no denying that he really was at the top of his game at that time, even though being at the top of his game was a bit of a dubious distinction. Now, 15 years later, he’s doing the same thing and mostly sounding old and washed up.

Dido’s song became a hit in its own right, probably due in no small part to its use in “Stan.” I like the song enough, but it’s not one that gets tons of play. I don’t think I’ve listened to it in full for many years until this morning while I was getting ready to do this post. It’s a pretty perfect little pop song and I can see why it was a big hit for Dido.  She never had another hit in the U.S., although I do remember “White Flag” getting some airplay.

It’s almost cliche on Thanksgiving to list the things you’re thankful for, but if you can’t talk about what you’re thankful for on Thanksgiving, what the hell is the purpose? I’m thankful for all the expected things – health, family, friends near and far. But I’m also thankful for the music, this month’s samples being a small slice of that. I think I’d lose my mind if I couldn’t listen to music. My daughter asked me the once if I had to pick, would I rather be blind or deaf and my answer is, as always, immediate. I’d rather be blind because I can’t imagine a world without pop music in it.  I’d lose so much if I lost my sight, but I would lost so much more if I couldn’t hear the music that makes me feel every emotion on the gamut.  I’d even miss Eminem a little bit, even though I think he’s mostly ridiculous now.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone out there – thanks for reading.  We’re still gonna get 30 songs out of this month!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

