Light Years / Kylie Minogue

KylieLightYears2000Wow, I missed two days in a row of blogging! For shame. I guess that means I’ll have to do double duty over the weekend because let me tell you how I’ll be lucky to get a post done tomorrow and Friday.  But tonight, it’s ok, because we’re going to step back in time with Kylie Minogue, who’s making her second appearance this month.

My friend Jason suggested I do a post about the song “Light Years” which has always been one of my favorite album tracks. It’s from the album of the same name and it was Kylie’s return to disco pop after a brief sojourn in the indie world with her album Impossible Princess – still the only Kylie album that I really can’t get into. While Impossible Princess may have been responsible for “Cowboy Style” – a song without which my wife’s book, Special Delivery would not be the same – it was largely unsuccessful as fans just didn’t know what to make of Indie Kylie. Admittedly, I mostly don’t either.

However, I do know what to make of Light Years Kylie. It wasn’t just a throwback to her PWL sound, but rather, a leap forward for her, helping her redefine her music for the new century. Many of the songs on Light Years are now certifiable Kylie classics. Songs like “Spinning Around”, “On A Night Like This”  and “Your Disco Needs You” continue to be trotted out on tour despite the fact that they’re nearly a decade and a half old. As the title track, you’d have expected that “Light Years” would have seen release as a single. It’s the last song on the album and has some great Kylie spoken bits, in which she informs us of the following:

Please fasten your seat belts
My name is Kylie,
I’ll be your purser
The exits are located in the front and the rear of the craft

“Light Years” has been a bit of a staple of Kylie’s live shows over the last 15 years, although it hasn’t shown up on tour since Showgirl: The Homecoming Tour in 2006. At that time, it was mashed up with one of her earliest songs “Turn It Into Love” – a combination that worked so much better than I thought it ever would.


Amazing to watch that clip and think that she had been diagnosed with breast cancer only 18 months prior. After undergoing surgery and chemotherapy, she made this triumphant return to the stage after canceling the remainder of the tour upon receiving her cancer diagnosis.  It speaks to Kylie’s drive, stamina and determination if she can do that, plus everything else she’s done since then after having beaten cancer. I still watch her today and sometimes think “that’s cancer survivor Kylie Minogue. You’re never know it.”

But perhaps the biggest revelation I had while doing this post was that I have had the words to the chorus wrong all these years.  I’ve always thought it was “Traveling light years.”  As it turns out, it’s actually “travel in light years.” But those internet lyrics sites are so infallible, I still think I’m right.

[EDIT: Actually “Light Years” was performed in 2009 on Kylie’s first ever American tour. It hit 6 North American cities and played nine dates. It played Chicago but I did not go. It wouldn’t be until 2011 that I would finally see Kylie live on her Aphrodite Tour, and we drove all the way to Dallas for that.]

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light Years / Kylie Minogue

  1. I thought it was “traveling light years” too! It SHOULD be. Great post, Dan. Thanks for taking it on! 🙂

  2. John says:

    I’m with you guys…”traveling,” although from hearing her say it in this clip, I’m now questioning my ears.

Leave a Reply

