Crush / Jennifer Paige

Jennifer_paige-crush_s_1We’re nearing the half way point of this journey and looking back, I’m realizing that fully half the songs have come from the 80s. This is not altogether a bad thing, but it’s time to shake things up a little bit.  So tonight’s song is a song that sounds like an 80s song, but was released as the 90s were coming to a close.

I don’t precisely recall when I first heard Jennifer Paige’s “Crush”, but chances are high that I was working at Drug Town in Iowa City. There are a whole slew of songs that were popular in the late 90s that I refer to as “Drug Town songs” in that they were played ad infinitum while I was working part time as a pharmacist there. Last year when I was blogging daily in November, I blogged one of the ultimate Drug Town songs, Savage Garden’s “I Want You.” (Update: I still haven’t done that song at karaoke.)  “Crush” is another.

I’m not sure that it’s possible to make a more perfect song for Dan than “Crush.” I think one of my favorite thing about it is the subtle rhyming scheme in the verses. The words don’t really rhyme, yet they do.

I see ya blowin’ me a kiss
It doesn’t take a scientist
To understand what’s going on baby
If you see something in my eye
Let’s not over analyze
Don’t go too deep with it baby

And despite the fact that the song has 4 songwriters, it doesn’t sound like it was written by a committee.  Rather, it’s springs very naturally out of itself. That takes some skill, because otherwise, the song you write ends up sounding like Billy Ocean’s “Get Out Of My Dreams (Get Into My Car).”

Jennifer Paige is not a vocal powerhouse, but the song doesn’t really call for it. She delivers it about like I would expect it to be delivered.  She never matched the success of “Crush”, although she’s had a couple of dance hits along the way, and enough to fill up a greatest hits album or two. It really makes me want to give her albums on Spotify a listen – who knows, I might really like them!

But perhaps my favorite “Crush” story is driving to my sister’s wedding shower with her and doing one of our patented “change the lyrics” things and changing the chorus to something like this:

It’s just, some Orange Crush
My tongue turns orange
Every time I drink

I’m no Weird Al, that’s for sure, but I hope that when she is older, Anna remembers all the songs that we’ve changed the lyrics to. I’ll probably be riddled with Alzheimer’s by then and will have long forgotten all of them. Or perhaps it’ll be all that I remember.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

