Triangle bitches

Two years ago tonight, my friend Jeff and I were in the presence of her Madgesty. Even after having seen her on four previous occasions, nothing could have prepared us for what was to happen that night.

3717_10151294972874328_1376679074_n

We had pretty decent seats that Jeff had purchased from StubHub for my 40th birthday that year, but things were not to go as planned. After whoring tweeting myself silly the night before in an effort to gain admittance to the The Golden Triangle (or, as we referred to it, Madonna’s Golden Snatch), I ended up actually winning and we were closer than we’ve ever been to Madonna.  Usually we settle for being in the same room with her, but this time, we were so close we could see the how teeny tiny Madonna actually is and just how much makeup she had to pancake on herself for the show.  We got to stand the whole night and wait and wait and wait ad infinitum for Madonna to show up.  I vividly remember Jeff saying that if we didn’t know that she started the show 2 and a half hours after the start time on the ticket, he would have been chain smoking up a storm.

dan jeff mdna

The MDNA Tour was not her best tour – it was light on hits and heavy on album tracks from MDNA. The show came to a screeching halt with the Like A Virgin Waltz.  For my money, no show will ever top The Confessions Tour in 2006.  Still, MDNA was a spectacle of the highest order with an interesting set list and amazing visuals.  However, it did officially spoil me on arena shows.  Now, no matter where I am sitting in the arena, I’m too far away.  Being so close to the Queen wrecked it forever.

But it was so worth it. And it was so, so appropriate that I got to share it with one of my best friends who has talked Madonna with me for almost 30 years now.  We have had many adventures at Madonna shows, both at the show and on the trips we take to get to them. Nothing will top the awful red-eye flight back from Vegas for the Confessions Tour or nearly wrecking my car in Chicago for the Wet & Juicy Sticky & Sweet Tour.  And if and when there’s a 2015 tour, you know we’ll be there.  Our goal this time is to be right at the tip of the other side of the triangle on the floor, because after being in the Golden Triangle, we just can’t go for second best, baby.

IMG_0878

This entry was posted in Life stories, Madonna and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triangle bitches

  1. John says:

    I’ve got two types of shows in my head…ones where the music is key, and ones where the visual is key. Fortunately, you don’t need as good a seat for the music shows, and that’s where I find myself more and more these days.

    • Dan says:

      I’ve been going to more and more mid-sized shows and although most of them are general admission shows and require me to stand, it’s nice to be able to be able to have a more intimate experience. A large arena just doesn’t provide the same experience.

      Sadly, I don’t see Madonna playing small venues anytime real soon. 😦

Leave a Reply

