Smash hit

smash_hit_app_iconWith the thousands of apps in the App Store, you’d think it’d be easy to find a fun game that you can waste your time on. And if you’re me thinking that, you would be wrong.

I don’t know if it’s me, or the games, or a combination of the two, but I can never make a game stick. I play it for a few days and then, I’m all Vampire Willow bored now. I don’t like things that are too hard (i.e. Angry Birds) because I despise doing the same thing over and over again only to never win. Candy Crush hung on for a long time until it was clear that clearing one impossible level only led you to another impossible level. I don’t mind turn-based games, but finding people to play with is sometimes hard. It’s kind of funny that the only game I play with any regularity on my phone is Dice With Buddies. It’s low commitment and low stress and ever since they’ve added achievements to the game, there’s an added level of fun beyond just blindly rolling dice.  I’m not really a Clash of Clans or world-building kind of guy – at least not on my phone because it’s just too damn little.

That said, I stumbled across Smash Hit and it got my attention. How to describe Smash Hit? Well, you’re basically throwing marbles at crystal structures as you travel gently through some other-worldly type of dimension. Yes, it is kind of fun, and yes, it could get old, but what I like about it is the pace. Endless runners like Temple Run, Pitfall and Robot Unicorn Attack are fun, but so often, they go so fast that I can never get very good at them. Smash Hit is just right for my 40-something mobile gaming brain.

 

Trust me, the person playing the game in the trailer is MUCH better than me.

Maybe I’m just getting old or maybe my reflexes aren’t what they used to be. I think my father always said something similar about his reflexes when he played Wolfenstein 3D with against my brother back in the early 90s.  And here I thought he was just making excuses.

Smash Hit is free in the App Store, but it costs a measly $1.99 to upgrade to premium, which allows you to restart from checkpoints, change the difficulty, and keep track of your stats.  I’d say it’s worth your time and your 2 bucks. It may be made by Mediocre, but the game is anything but.

EDIT: I’m thinking that what this game REALLY needs is a Phantasm mod.

phantasm_ball

This entry was posted in games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

