I ain’t afraid of no ghost

On Record Store Day this year, a combination of me forgetting about it in my single-minded quest for Dolly Parton’s “Blue Smoke” blue vinyl 7″ single and my local record store not getting any in stock, I completely missed out on the 30th anniversary 10-inch single of Ray Parker, Jr.’s “Ghostbusters.” I remember liking the song a lot as a kid in 1984 – it was the summer I turned 12 and my attention was shifting toward pop music other than that recorded by one Olivia Newton-John – but in hindsight, it’s kind of a gimmicky song that, much like Cyndi Lauper’s “The Goonies ‘R’ Good Enough” was one of those soundtrack songs that was bound and determined to have the name of its accompanying movie in the title, come hell or high water.  I hadn’t listened to it in years. Until tonight.  I brought it up on Spotify and was once again reminded of it’s amazing 80s cheese, which is said, of course, with humility and love.

Still, I was sad to have missed out on the Record Store Day release.  The day after, it showed up on eBay in the $80 to $100 range – a massively inflated price over what it retailed for.  I had kind of resigned myself to never getting it.  But then, a friend of mine on Twitter (who I recently also connected with on Facebook) brought to my attention that it was for sale in the Ghostbusters store.  Not only that, it was bundled with a T-shirt for a pretty decent price of $32.99.

gb shirt disc

Oh, and did I mention that the record is GLOW IN THE DARK vinyl?  Because it is.  To me, that’s the real draw.

I’m kind of to the point with T-shirts where I should get rid of one for every new one that I get.  But that’s a pretty iconic print and well, I can always use more shirts, right?

Truth be told, the thing that makes me happiest about this being available for a reasonable price is that the bottom just dropped out of the market for all those who bought it on RSD and then tried to sell it at an astronomical price on eBay. Take that, you dirty bastards.  It may not have a RSD label on it, but I guess I don’t really care all that much about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

