Friday Five: 3/7/13

Here we go again. It’s Friday. I’m going to put iTunes on shuffle and list the first 5 songs that come up and try to come up with something to say about the obscure songs.

1 – “Be There” by Dolly Parton & Sylvester Stallone (from Rhinestone, 1984)
Really, who told Sylvester Stallone he could sing?  But wasn’t that the whole point of the movie Rhinestone?  It was kind of a turd of a movie and this song isn’t much better, although Dolly redeems it a little bit. All in all, I’d rather listen to the Pointer Sisters’ song of the same name.

2 – “Chickenman” by Indigo Girls (from Rites of Passage, 1992)
I owe Heidi for bringing this song into my life. I liked the Indigo Girls’ debut album enough, but I didn’t really know anything else beyond that. She had most of their albums but didn’t have the debut album – another sign we were meant to be together. “Chickenman” is nonsensical fun.

3 – “The Way You Make Me Feel” by Michael Jackson (from Bad, 1987)
Acha-oo! When push comes to shove, I prefer Bad to Thriller which is heresy in so many circles I can’t even tell you. “The Way You Make Me Feel” is one of the reasons for that. Not much more to say other than Bad was also the last Michael Jackson album I liked start to finish.

4 – “I Will Never Let You Go” by Jackie Greene (from Brokeback Mountain, 2005)
Clocking in at just under 2 minutes, this song is over before it even starts, but it remains one of my favorite songs from the Brokeback Mountain soundtrack.  I feel like it’s one of those few soundtracks whose incidental songs were chosen carefully to reflect the theme of the movie, even though they were just background music in the film.

5 – “What Will Baby Be” by Dolly Parton (from Slow Dancing With The Moon, 1993)
So this week’s Friday Five is bookended by Dolly – I guess there are worse things in the world. “What Will Baby Be” is a 1993 redo of an unreleased Dolly song from the 60s detailing how a baby can turn out good or bad but it “depends entirely on you and me.” Slow Dancing With The Moon is the Dolly album I refer to as her “flying buttresses album” because she had a duet with a hot 90s country star (or four, as in the case of “Romeo”) on every other track, but you can tell that this comes from Dolly’s early years just from the simplicity of the lyrics and her delivery.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

