Friday Five: 2/28/14

Here we go again.  It’s Friday and in keeping with my new custom, I’m going to put iTunes on shuffle and list the first 5 songs that come up and try to come up with something to say about the obscure songs.

That’s right folks, it’s Friday and it’s the right kind of Friday (i.e., a Friday before a weekend that I don’t work) and it’s also Oscar weekend.  So far I’ve only seen one of the movies nominated for Best Picture – Nebraska – but our goal is to watch at least three more before the ceremony on Sunday night.  But enough of that.  On with the Friday Five.

1 – “Satin Chic” by Goldfrapp (from Supernature, 2005)
I have this habit of liking every other Goldfrapp album and Supernature was one of those that I liked. “Satin Chic” lives up to its title by being a glittery disco song that manages to be both retro and current. While probably not as good as “Ooh La La” and “Ride A White Horse”, I was glad this came up because I had kind of forgotten about it.

2 – “The Night Sky” by Keane (from The Night Sky, 2007)
I really don’t have much to say about this Keane song other than it’s pleasant and is one of what seems like a billiion non-album tracks that they have done over the years.  The B-side of this song was a cover of Queen’s “Under Pressure.”

3 – “Dangerous Times” by Cher (from Cher, 1987)
Taken from an album that started my favorite Cher era – her 80s faux metal phase – “Dangerous Times” is a fantastically cheesy album track that is right at home amongst the bombast that was Cher at that time. Wouldn’t it just be amazing if she pulled this out of her butt on the Dressed To Kill Tour?

4 – “Samantha’s Serenade” by Ed Harcourt (from s.Darko, Original Motion Picture Score, 2009)
I’ve never seen the movie s.Darko, the ill-advised sequel to the cult hit Donnie Darko, but for some reason, I bought the soundtrack.  I was probably trying to use up some eMusic money before it reset at the end of the month and I really enjoyed the Donnie Darko soundtrack.  A decent score to what is apparently a very forgettable movie.

5 – “You Need A Man Around Here” by Brad Paisley (from Time Well Wasted, 2005)
I shouldn’t like Brad Paisley, but for some reason, his approach to modern country music is very appealing to me. I am utterly powerless to resist a song like “You Need A Man Around Here” which is a cute turnabout on how a man’s home always needs “a woman’s touch.”  A cheesy yet lyrically clever country song will always get my attention.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Five: 2/28/14

  1. dishy says:

    GODLFRAPP – Lovely To See You! Love it! I, too, love Dangerous Times – I actually think that CHER 1987 album is perfect from start to finish – something I cannot say for Heart of Stone and Love Hurts!

Leave a Reply

