Love, Marriage but mostly Divorce

Ladies and gentlemen, the first EPIC album of the year.

lovemarriagedivorce

Surprisingly, the year is NOT 1995.  Really, there are so many good things to say about this album, I don’t even know where to start except for this – Babyface and Toni Braxton were born to sing together.  This album comes hot on the heels of my rediscovery of their duet “Give U My Heart” from the Boomerang soundtrack.  Honestly, I’m not sure I would have bothered with this album had it not been for that song resurfacing in my life.  I’m sure glad that I did.

Although the title of the album is Love, Marriage & Divorce, it’s definitely not a three-way split.  Most of the songs are about when relationships hit the rocks.  This isn’t surprising as those types of situations always make for more interesting songs.  Standouts for me include “Sweat” and “Heart Attack” – both of which sound like refugees from the mid-90s.  Thing is, we should have never left them behind.

I wouldn’t call myself a fan of either Toni Braxton or Babyface, but together, they created pure gold.  This album is a keeper.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

