Once Upon A Dream

hr_Maleficent_3It’s rare that all everyone in our family eagerly anticipates the same movie.  Getting two of the three of us on board is easy, but for most movies, there’s always one holdout.  Not so with this summer’s upcoming release of Maleficent.  When we saw the first trailer, we knew that it was a “SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY” situation.  Some of this has to do with the fact that Maleficent is the best Disney villain ever, but I’ll admit that a lot of it has to do with Anna and my obsession with how Maleficent goes to the bathroom wearing all those heavy robes.  I said it one time while reading Sleeping Beauty to her and now, whenever we read it, instead of the dragon breathing red-hot flames, it breathes red-hot diarrhea.  Whether I am a good father or a bad father in that instance is probably up for debate.

Anyway, the trailers for Maleficent have been rolling out slowly over the last few months, and last night during the Grammys, another one made its debut.  This time, it featured Lana Del Rey’s version of the classic Sleeping Beauty song “Once Upon A Dream.”  When I first heard that this was happening, I wasn’t sure what to make of it.  It could either be really awesome or a complete disaster.  I was a Lana Del Rey detractor for the longest time, until I actually took the time to listen to Born To Die and found that it was, in fact, a pretty good album.  I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I’m a Lana Del Rey fan, but I do enjoy her in manageable doses.

The song is available for free on Google Play today – it’s the first purchase I’ve ever made from that service – and I have to say that I really like it.  It’s moody and atmospheric and fits the movie (or at least the trailers) very well.  It’s also very Lana Del Rey.  She manages to make it work even though it’s a cover of a Disney song and not a song about her pussy tasting like Pepsi-Cola.

And really, was anyone besides Angelina Jolie even under consideration for Maleficent? Because she’s perfect.

This entry was posted in Movies, Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

