Old Favorites

I’ve been off work since last Wednesday. It’s been a much-needed recharge of my batteries and I think that by the time I go back tomorrow, I’ll be ready to take on the world – if only just a little bit.  I have tried to balance being productive with taking time for me during the last 5 days and overall, I’ve accomplished that goal pretty well.  My wife sent me to Des Moines yesterday to go record shopping and basically spend a little bit of time by myself.  It was a good call as I really need to record shop by myself.  Whenever anyone goes with me, they are invariably bored long before I’m even close to finished.

One of the little things that I’ve been doing while I’ve been off is trying to whittle down my Old Favorites iTunes Smart Playlist. This Smart Playlist is the brainchild of my friend Matt that I tweaked to my own liking.  Basically what I did was group together the songs that have a play count of greater than 8, but haven’t been played in the last 3 months.  The effect of this is two-fold. First, it collects all those songs that I used to really be in to, but for whatever reason have fallen off my radar.  Second, once the song gets played, it drops off this playlist and goes to my Recently Played Smart Playlist where it is likely to get even more plays as that’s one of my go-to playlists when I have no idea what I want to listen to.

The problem with Old Favorites is that I always forget about it, so it frequently gets a little unwieldy – sometimes growing to 300+ songs. I took a screenshot of what it looked like this morning. Note that you can only see about 40 of the songs on the playlist.  I currently have it sorted by last played date, so clearly, I have not listened to Zhane as much as I should be.

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 8.49.50 AM

So I set out last Wednesday to try to get this playlist emptied or at least take a serious chunk out of it.  The songs on the playlist at that point numbered well into the 300s and it seemed that just as soon as I got a bunch listened to, midnight came around and a whole bunch more ended up on there (live updating, I hate to love you.)  But I had a lot of house cleaning to do, not to mention a lot of reading that I wanted to catch up on, so I had lots of opportunities to listen to songs from this playlist.

How did I do?  As you can see, it’s down to less than 200 songs.  Right now, I’m concentrating on getting listening to stuff that I haven’t listened to since May and June.  I also have more house cleaning on today’s agenda so I should be able to knock another couple hour’s worth of songs off the list.

For those of you wondering “why is this such a big deal to him?” – valid question. It’s just how my brain works.  And although my brain carries with it a lot of things that might make it less than desirable, I would never trade my brain’s ability and desire to process music like it does for anything.

Until next time, all bound for mu mu land! (now playing, for those wondering.)

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old Favorites

  1. Pingback: The moves and the motion | This Man's World

Leave a Reply

