22

Taylor_Swift_-_22My daughter is not always like the typical preteen. She doesn’t get the Justin Bieber thing and Heidi and I are still pretty cool in her eyes.  But she does love Taylor Swift. This is something that my wife tolerates as she really doesn’t like Taylor Swift much at all. I, on the other hand, have actually grown quite fond of her music thanks to repeated exposure to and from the horse barn. This stands to reason as I have been accused of having the musical taste of a 12 year-old girl.  If that’s true, Anna and I will have the same musical taste for the next year and I’m sure it will be fabulous.  I really never listened to Taylor Swift much before Red.  I couldn’t name any of her songs even though Anna has been listening to her for at least a couple of years. But “22” was always one of the tracks that really stood out for me.  And it only seems appropriate that on the 22nd day of November, I write a post about “22.”

“”22” is pretty straight-on pop, eschewing the country part of the country-pop equation that Swift navigates with considerable finesse. The chorus is infectious and fun to sing along with.  Apparently, being 22 has was good to her, as feeling 22 equates to all the great things in life. And even though I don’t always look back on my early 20s with great fondness, yeah, being 22 was pretty fun.

I don’t have tons to say about “22” except that I really like it and I always think of Anna when I hear it. I’m kind of glad that I got over my initial bias against Taylor Swift because it’s fun to listen to with my daughter.  Someday, I hope she’ll look back and remember that her dad didn’t just dismiss all her music. In the grand scheme of things, she could be listening to a lot worse things – the aforementioned Bieber, for example.

Anna told me that she’s going to sing it to me on my birthday next year – “I don’t know about you/But I’m feeling 42” will be how she sings it.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

