Chatterbox

MAMU4551I’ll admit that today’s post is kind of a “I did it, there it is” type of post. But doing daily posting isn’t quite as easy as it might be luck, even when you program it for success like I have.  My work schedule has been incompatible with my blogging, and since blogging never has and never will pay the bills, the job takes precedence. But I do have this little song that is very far off the beaten path for me to offer up tonight.

I discovered “Chatterbox” by Steve Riley and the Mamou Playboys because I was intrigued by the album cover which shows a oil drenched bird of some sort. It all makes sense when you find out that Steve Riley and the Mamou Playboys are a Cajun/Louisiana Creole band from southern Louisiana.  Recorded in 2011 in the aftermath of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill that dumped 5 million barrels of oil into the Gulf of Mexicao, the cover art is not surprising.  I was also curious what a song called “Chatterbox” could possibly sound like.  It was either Spotify or eMusic that recommended it (proving that I really can’t live without either) and I’m glad they did.

“Chatterbox” is actually about a club or bar and not a chatterbox of the more conventional type. It is also a rare English language track – pretty much all the rest of the songs on Grand Isle are in Cajun French.  Still, I have a hard time understanding the lyrics to “Chatterbox” despite the fact that they are in English.  I’ve listened to the rest of the album on Spotify and I like it enough. I just haven’t been moved to purchase it yet.  But I love the hell out of “Chatterbox.”  I really wish it had been released this year because my year-end CD seems woefully incomplete without it.

I couldn’t really find any good YouTube videos of the song, but here’s a live performance of it that will suffice.

If you’re Spotify-enabled, you should see it embedded below.

For thinking I wasn’t going to be a chatterbox tonight, I wrote more than I thought. And if you like this song, toss them your 99 cents. They’re an independent band that self-release everything they do.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

