Misled

Misled01I thought about doing a Lady Gaga song today to honor the release of ARTPOP despite the fact that I’m not all that crazy about the album. Maybe I’ll like it after a few more listens, but I’m thinking that the music is just not for me. As a friend of mine said on Twitter today, every generation has a need for at least one crazy pop princess.  My generation certainly had theirs. So instead, we’re gonna talk about someone else who might be a little bit batshit – Celine Dion.

To say I’m a Celine Dion fan overstates the case greatly. Although I did buy quite a few of her albums, so I’m not sure what that says. Anyway, the song of Celine’s that I really love is “Misled” from her 1993 album The Colour Of My Love.  “Misled” is a lot like Mariah’s “Make It Happen” in that it is produced such that it could have been sung by Taylor Dayne in the 80s. Not surprisingly, it is produced by Ric Wake, responsible for production of some of Taylor Dayne’s better known music as well as many uptempo tracks on Mariah’s early albums and the rest of the non-ballads on The Colour of My Love. So I guess it’s not surprising that “Misled” is one of my favorite Celine Dion songs.

But it’s more than that. I always feel like uptempo tracks are such a departure for Celine, who is better known for her bombastic ballads. Even when the songs are cheesy (and believe, me they can be – case in point “Treat Her Like A Lady” which features Celine’s French-Canadian accent doing hip-hop over a rap-like background), I really do prefer them over the ballads. Give me “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now” over “The Power of Love” any day of the week. “Misled” gives you a chance to hear the classic lyric:

I’m not somebody who commits the crime
And leaves the scene
But when I’ve been dissed
I don’t spend much time on what might’ve been

That’s right, Celine is going for street cred by using the word “dissed.”  Heidi and I always used to love that.  Well, that and the fact that I swear that during one of her vamps, she says the word “vulva.” But I’m sure that’s just me.

The other thing that “Misled” has that makes it so amazing is syncopation. Most notably in the chorus – “Just a page his-to-ry” and every syllable of “history” is just slightly off the beat.  Put syncopation in a song and you’re half way there with me.

I’m of the mind that if you took the good songs from The Colour of My Love and Falling Into You, excised all the filler and put them on one album, you’d have a perfect Celine Dion album. Maybe someday I’ll try that, but for now, I’ll just be happy that “Misled” exists because as cheesy Celine Dion songs go, it’s hard to beat.  I’ll also try to ignore the most regrettable thing Celine did during this time period – giving herself a short haircut. Not flattering at all.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

