The Golden Triangle

A year ago tonight, I was headed to the MDNA Tour in Kansas City for my audience with the Queen.  The night before, I found out that via relentless and tireless tweeting at Madonna’s manager, Guy Oseary, I had won two tickets to the pit a/k/a The Golden Triangle. You can see me in this photo – 3rd from the right in the back row.

156482_10151299506829402_1489696804_nI still remember getting the DM on Twitter from Guy Oseary’s account that I had won the tickets. I was at Hy-Vee and happened to check my phone for something and saw the message. I immediately texted Heidi and on the way home from the store, I called Jeff who thought I was joking. My response to him was “WOULD I JOKE ABOUT SOMETHING LIKE THIS???”  Of course, being in the Golden Triangle meant that we would sacrifice the safety of reserved seats. Hell, we sacrifice the concept of “seats” altogether as the Golden Triangle was nothing but standing.  We had to get there early and make a break for the Triangle the instant the doors open to make sure we had a good spot.  Once there, we had to stand our ground against anyone who wanted to muscle in on our spot.

As it turns out, the people in the Golden Triangle (“Triangle bitches” as Madonna called us) were some of the most well behaved concert goers I’ve ever had the pleasure of associating with. Everyone was there to have a good time and there was virtually no posturing and getting in people’s faces. I guess everyone was afraid Madonna would kick their ass.

It’s hard for me to even remember the experience there – although the interminable wait from 7PM when we got to the Triangle till 10:30PM when Madonna finally took the stage is burned into everyone’s collective memory.  Our feet will surely never forget it.  Being that close to Madonna was a really surreal experience.  That close, you see that she really is a human being – and a tiny one at that.  Jeff says that being that close, while amazing and a once-in-a-lifetime experience, takes away a bit of the magic as when you’re that close, you see that some of the props look remarkably like our old swing choir risers.  When you view the show from a distance, everything is so smooth and streamlined. Up close, you see the mechanics of it. Still, I wouldn’t have traded those Triangle tickets and the experience that went with it for anything in the world.

Here are a handful of photos that we took from the Triangle that night.  Surprisingly, it’s still difficult to get good photos – even that close – because the light tends to wash out people’s faces, but here are some of the better ones.

IMG_1347IMG_0878IMG_0890IMG_0924IMG_0919IMG_0937

I know that the next time I see Madonna, it won’t be from that close.  And of all the shows that I’ve seen in person, I really think this was the best one to see so close and to see twice.

And finally, let’s be honest, isn’t the Golden Triangle just a euphemism for Madonna’s crotch?

 

This entry was posted in Madonna, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

