Famous followers

I woke up this morning to this e-mail from Twitter.Screen Shot 2013-10-20 at 7.44.20 AM

Those of you who know me know what a thrill this is for me.  Darren Hayes is my first “famous follower!” Well, I suppose he’s my second after my wife, because as our daughter says “Mom’s kinda famous.”  I’m pretty sure that the only thing that could have possibly made this better would be to have Cher, the master of the incoherently awesome tweets, follow me, but you know.  As Flo would say, when donkeys fly!

The thing about famous people on Twitter is that so many of them have handlers that manage their Twitter account.  There’s no way that Dolly Parton is actually tweeting (those nails, for one thing) and I figure that Barack Obama is not actually at the computer composing tweets. The other thing about verified celebrity Twitter accounts is that they frequently are neglected. They get made, have 5 tweets, and that’s it. They’re like blogs that have just dried up – you wish someone would come along and just clean up the mess.  This isn’t the case with Darren as not only is he the composer of most if not ALL of his tweets, he’s also fairly active. He also engages fans which is fun and part of the reason that people follow their favorite celebrities on Twitter. It gives you a chance to get closer to those you admire than you otherwise would. As I always say, what a crazy modern world. I think what prompted the follow is that a bunch of us were all squeeing about the Diane Birch album, and how it was a better Stevie Nicks album than Stevie’s last album.

That said, I have no delusions. Darren is not my BFF nor will he likely ever be. But, as Jody Watley (another authentic celebrity Tweeter) would say, it’s still a thrill.

Darren Hayes is also a pretty serious Madonna fan, and he did this cover of “Dress You Up” a few years ago. Still one of my favorite covers ever because it approximates The Virgin Tour version.  That’s serious fandom.

Thanks for the follow, Darren. It kinda made my day.

This entry was posted in Cher, darren hayes, Dolly Parton, Madonna, Music, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

