Blinky blinky, that’s me

blinkyWhen I was a kid, I had this Peter Pan storyteller record called Blinky The Lighthouse Ship.  It was my favorite book-and-record.

As with most of the stuff like that from my childhood, it’s been lost and I wouldn’t even know where to begin to look for it.  If I had known that someday I would want to hear it again, I probably would have taken better care of it.  It likely got stepped on or broken or the book got torn.  In a sentiment-free moment, I probably threw it away – although I really can’t imagine doing that!

I’ve kind of poked around the Internet looking for a copy of it off and on for several years.  I never really made it a quest or a mission or anything like that – it was one of those “wouldn’t it be cool if I could find it?”  Well, much like it never occurred to me to check YouTube for that rare original country version of Dolly’s “Two Doors Down,” I never thought to look for Blinky there either.

As it turns out, he’s been posted there since at least 2010.

The funny thing about Blinky is that he’s kind of a sad sack.  Woe is me, I don’t have any friends!  I’m never going to open my eyes again because the other ships won’t even say hello!  Of course, he saves the day when there is a storm and the ships are all in danger of colliding into each other.  I never noticed it then, but it’s kind of a nautical retelling of Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer mixed in with a healthy dose of Charlie Brown.  Still, I couldn’t help but feel for Blinky because all he wanted was a friend, even if his reaction to having no friends was probably not likely to win him any.

Perhaps that’s why I liked it so much.  Feeling vaguely lonely is one of those background emotions for me, even when I’m surrounded by people that care a great deal about me.  That is just one of those things that I am learning to live with and realize that while I may feel it, it is just a feeling and not rational.  It doesn’t overwhelm me often so it’s one of those things that I’m learning to coexist with.  Blinky was a lonely light ship, and I was a lonely kid, even though was certainly not at a loss for friends.  I think it goes back to me really wanting more meaningful connection with people when really, that’s just not easy to get.

I have to say that I loved the songs quite a bit.  “The Old North Wind” song is one that I could still sing to all these years later.

blinky pac manI probably threw over Blinky the Lighthouse Ship for another Blinky, although I would not imagine that I was still listening to book-and-record things at age 10.  Although I do remember getting the Gremlins ones at Hardees and I would have been 12 the summer Gremlins came out.  But as I’m learning, 12 is one of those ages where you can be a kid one day and a grown-up the next and then back to being a kid the day after that.

One last thing about Blinky.  Even though it screams evenings in the mid-70s, I was stunned to find out that it has a copyright date of 1954.  I suppose it’s kind of old-fashioned so that probably shouldn’t surprise me.  Had it been produced in the 70s, Blinky probably would have been a disco ball at Studio 54.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Books, Random thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blinky blinky, that’s me

  1. Mary35 says:

    I feel slightly less nerdy for listening to “books on record” now. My aunt also recorded herself on tape reading some Amelia Bedelia books that I listened to often.

    • Dan says:

      What’s funny is that as much as I loved books on record, I’m really not an audio book fan (unless it’s being read by Anne Murray – then it’s the best thing ever.) I tend to not pay close attention and suddenly, I have no idea what was said in the last 15 minutes.

  2. Mary35 says:

    I have never listened to any audio books, either. I’m not sure I would like it. I wonder if it would be a good distraction while exercising, or if I just wouldn’t be able to focus?

  3. “Blinky the Lighthouse Ship” was (and still is) one of my favorite stories produced by Peter Pan Records. You have made mention that it had a copyright date of 1954. The “1954” was actually the book/record set’s catalog number; the set was originally released in 1971, and based on the above image (with “Barney the Book Bear”), it was re-issued in 1981.

Leave a Reply

