I know what you did last night, but not last summer

I-Know-What-You-Did-Last-NightNot to be confused with the horror film of a very similar name, the Pam Tillis/Lorrie Morgan duet “I Know What You Did Last Night” hit iTunes today. It’s the lead single from their duet album that is out in July.

The pairing of these two grand dames of 90s country is so out of the blue that I just can’t help but be interested.  I listened to my fair share of Pam Tillis back in the day – hell, a line from “Maybe It Was Memphis” made it into Heidi’s Special Delivery just for me.  Lorrie Morgan I know less about.  Virtually my only exposure to her is in Dolly Parton’s 1991 duet “Best Woman Wins” which is one of my cheesy Dolly favorites.  What’s funny is the only reason I know about this album is because of one of those stupid things that are taking over Facebook these days – the “such-and-such page is talking about a page you like.”  There it was, Pam and Lorrie all Thelma & Louise on the cover of Dos Divas.  I preordered the album faster than you could say shake the sugar tree.  For once, one of those things actually worked.

The feel of the song is very 90s, so much so that the song would be at home on one of Pam’s solo albums from that time period.  My soft spot for 90s country is well documented, and I am not one bit ashamed of it.  Naturally, most of the 90s country that I listened to at the time was female country.  Try as I might, I could never get into Garth Brooks.  I still cringe thinking about all the dumb drunk frat boys bellowing “Friends In Low Places” at bars when I was in college.  Still, there’s plenty of space in that soft spot for “Callin’ Baton Rouge” – one of those country songs that I like much more than I really should.

So give ol’ Pam and Lorrie a try.  It’s cheesy country through and through, but I love it in spite of myself.  This trash will be getting plenty of play this summer.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

