Pieces of this and that

Heidi’s out of town at the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention in Kansas City which leaves Anna and me at home alone.  I’ve had the last couple of days off of work which has been nice but I wasn’t able to get PTO tomorrow so it’s back to work for my sorry ass in the morning.  This is probably a good thing as I can tell that I am most likely in need of more structure than wandering around the house for the last three days has provided.  It never fails – whenever Heidi is gone, my presence on social media goes up initially, and then drops way off after I suspect everyone has grown weary of me.  I’m about to that point where I feel like I need to walk slowly away from the internet, but here I am, writing a blog post.  Part of my need to walk away from the internet is that I have been obsessively reloading Reddit as I posted a picture that really caught fire and garnered me over 1,000 points in link karma.  I’m telling you, you just can’t predict what will really take off on Reddit.  But I also have gone back and deleted a lot of Facebook posts and thank God most of my tweets have been @ replies because then at least people don’t think I’ve been haunting Twitter even though I’ve been doing that as well.  I’ve even been tweeting celebrities which, under normal circumstances, is a rare occurrence indeed.

I’ve been drinking too much coffee and too much wine – fortunately more of the former than the latter.  It snowed here today as well which was a morale killer like you wouldn’t believe.  I got out to take Anna to school, go to my chiropractor appointment and pick Anna up from school.  I still have to go put the truck in the garage which I fully intend to do even though technically I’m in pajamas and my friend TKT would have my head for even walking out the front door in pajama pants.  I also managed to get Anna to get her homework done even though all she wants to do is play Minecraft – a game whose appeal is completely lost on me.  The game is even more exciting to her now that I installed a mod called Simply Horses that allows her to merge her love of horses with her love of Minecraft.

The Daddy-Daughter dance is this weekend.  It’s the last one as she officially graduates from elementary school in June and heads to middle school.  Since Heidi is not home, the ever amazing Jill is doing Anna’s hair prior to the dance.  Jill is so awesome that I caught a glimpse of my hair in the rear view mirror of the car today and, even though it’s starting to get long and to the point where it would normally be a bit unruly, it was still amazingly cute.  As long as I have the option of her cutting my hair, I won’t go anywhere else.

But this is the thing about weeks like this – I’m feeling kind of starved for companionship.  Despite my general tendency toward being an introvert, it doesn’t mean that I don’t like to be around people.  And I’m seriously to the point where it’s a good thing I’m working tomorrow because, if nothing else, it’ll feed my need to talk to people.  It’s easy to say “I just want the world to turn off!” until it does and then I’m left wondering what the hell to do with myself.   Such is the nature of our modern life, I guess.  It still makes me kind of sad though.  If it were up to me, all the people I care about would live in a 10 block radius and we’d all see each other a hell of a lot more often than life seems to allow us to now.

My first reaction to this kind of thing has always been to say to myself, “Dan, grow the hell up.  Don’t be such a douchebag.”  But as I know, that’s not a very nice way to talk to myself and it doesn’t respect the part of me that honestly feels that way, douchey or not.  Like I said, just because I’m introverted doesn’t mean I don’t like other people.  For those of you that have been seeing me all over the place on social media, that’s kind of where I am these days.

So I’ll leave you with this.  I rewatched Reservoir Dogs the other day and I really had forgotten how good it is.  Tim Roth was pretty amazing in that film.  And how can anyone feel sad when Tim Roth is super cool?  Because by extension, I’m super cool too.  Or something like that.

Screen Shot 2013-05-02 at 8.51.46 PM

This entry was posted in personal, Serious thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pieces of this and that

  1. Jess says:

    Hey, *I* live within a 10-block radius! And I feel like I hardly ever see you guys, but that’s largely on me. :\ Will have to remedy that soon. Just sucks that this happens to be the weekend that both C & I are going out of town (although, interestingly enough, to separate events). I *think* next Saturday might be open, if you want to karaoke it up.

Leave a Reply

