7 Songs: Car Trip with Anna

One of the pluses that comes out of having to drive 45 minutes to the horse barn is that I get to spend a lot of time in the car with my daughter.  We’ll sit and talk about random stuff – her day at school, various things she’s learned from the BrainPop videos, what it was like when I was 11 (I was mostly listening to Olivia Newton-John, thank you very much) and other such stuff.  It’s one of my favorite things, even though driving down to the barn is kind of a pain in the butt.  But what we mostly do is listen to music.  We will frequently listen to my “Dan’s Favorites” playlists, and many songs from that list have become staples of the car ride to the barn.  There are a handful that I will probably always associate with going to the barn, and this edition of 7 Songs is dedicated to Anna.

7 Songs: Car Trip With Anna Edition

1.  “Red” / Taylor Swift
My wife really can’t stand Taylor Swift, but I am, at worst, indifferent to Taylor.  We have Anna’s Big Sister (as in Big Brothers, Big Sisters) to thank for her exposure to Taylor Swift, and while I agree that every song seems to be about love gone wrong or something similar, I can’t deny that there’s a savvy pop sensibility to many of the songs on her latest album, Red.  This song was added to my favorites list and Anna never misses a chance to sing along which, I’ll admit, is always my favorite part of listening to Taylor Swift with my daughter.  “Red” is certainly not the only Taylor Swift song we listen to in the car, but it’s definitely the one I like the most.

2.  “Ain’t Nobody Got Time For That (Auto Tune Remix)” / Sweet Brown
Most of the time, Anna thinks the things that Heidi and I find hilarious to be rather inexplicable.  Not so with Sweet Brown.  If you’re one of the few people left on the planet that hasn’t seen the original Sweet Brown footage, do yourself a favor and go watch it.  Then watch the autotune remix below.  I blew 99 cents of iTunes credit buying this song and I have absolutely no regrets.  I often wonder if Sweet Brown had any idea what she was unleashing on the world in her escape from the “fahr” but the fact that she probably didn’t makes it that much more amazing.

3.  “When Can I See You Again” / Owl City
I’m not ashamed to say that Wreck-It Ralph made me a little bit misty and the fact that it lost the Oscar to the clearly inferior Brave made me glad that I didn’t watch the Oscars this year.  “When Can I See You Again” played over the end credits of the movie and I’m not sure I even took off my coat before going to my computer to see if I could buy the song.  I’m not sure how I feel about Owl City overall, but this song is, as Anna says, super cute.

4.  “Why’d You Come In Here Lookin’ Like That” / Dolly Parton
I knew this song would appeal to Anna, and boy, was I right.  We were driving back into town last night after an evening at the horse barn and we realized we hadn’t heard this famous Dolly question song yet.  She quickly cued it up on my iPod and I will admit to deliberately not driving through a yellow light so that we could hear the whole thing.  This song has major college memories for me as I didn’t buy Dolly’s 1989 album White Limozeen  until 1993, but I also remember a guy in my Biology 2 class when I was a senior in high school always going around saying “Why’d you come in here lookin’ like that?” which seemed apropros of absolutely nothing at the time.  Little did I know.  Our favorite part is Dolly yelling the “WHY’D???” at 2:02.  She’ll turn the car stereo up just to accentuate it.  My genetics at work, I say.

5.  “99 Tears” / Sky Ferreira
The “cry baby cry baby cry” part of this song gets stuck so deep in my head that writing about it this morning virtually guarantees it’ll be on an endless loop in the back of my brain all day today.  Anna and I are still trying to decide if 99 tears is a lot or a little, but I think that we’re close to declaring it “a lot” because Sky sings “you can drown in 99 tears” so if you’re going to drown, it must be a lot right?  I have to say that it warms my heart to hear Anna sing along to “99 Tears” complete with a put-on British accent.

6.  “Queen of Hearts” / Juice Newton
When I told Anna this song is from 1981, I may as well have told her that it was written i 1681.  Nonetheless, this is another one the songs that I’ve pushed on her, and I caught her singing along to the chorus last night.  I remember being scandalized by the lyrics “and now you hop beneath the covers and tell ’em they’re the only one” back in the day.  The fact that I later became a Madonna fan showed that I either a) enjoyed being scandalized or b) became much harder to scandalize.  In any event, I love Juice’s mix of country-pop and it fits in nicely with Taylor Swift who is doing something similar, if not as cleverly as Juice did it by half.

7.  “Brokenhearted” / Karmin
We have Jeff to thank for this song being in our lives.  He introduced me to the song – as well as warning me away from the whole album – and I can’t deny that “Brokenhearted” is catchy as hell.  Anna seems to think so as she never skips it when it comes up.  And honestly, there’s not much more to say about “Brokenhearted” other than it’s catchy as hell.

This entry was posted in 7 Songs, Anna, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

