These words I live by

I have one more graveyard shift to get through.  This is the first time I’ve ever worked them while sick and, let me tell you, it’s no picnic.  Fortunately, through a combination of many things, I’ve been able to play it just right so that I’ve maximized my sleep and recovery while not having to call in sick.  Believe me, nothing makes me feel worse than calling in sick for an overnight shift.

So tonight, I’ve been revisiting some of my favorite Madonna album tracks (thanks to Keith and Steve.)  If any one Madonna album track sums up how I try to live my life (emphasis on TRY), it’s “Over and Over.”

And if I fall, I get up again now.  Over and over.  If I lose I don’t feel paralyzed.

My life both is and is not everything I thought it would be.  Don’t most people feel that way?  I don’t know – maybe?  But as I say in the tag line of this blog, I’m not afraid to say I hear a different beat.  And I will shout it again from the highest mountain.

This might very well be the insane blogging of a sleep-deprived guy, but it’s what I have.

This entry was posted in Madonna, Music, Serious thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to These words I live by

  1. So sorry you’re having to struggle through like this. “My life both is and is not everything I thought it would be.” truer words have rarely been spoken. I’m incredibly grateful to have my job and I actually like it most of the time. But part of me thinks ‘how the hell did it come to this?’.

Leave a Reply

