“Ain’t No Way To Treat A Lady” vs. “No Way To Treat A Lady”

reddyraittYesterday I was updating my iPod smart playlist “Dan’s Favorites.”  It was time for an overhaul because while most of the songs on that playlist really do qualify as my favorites, I found I was skipping a lot of them when I would listen to the playlist, mostly because I wasn’t in the mood for the song or I had just heard it too many times.  I will also admit to wanting to put some new stuff on there to expose Anna to because I knew that we would be driving down to the horse barn last night.  After I got done taking away and adding songs – the playlist perpetually hovers around 100 songs and everything on the it has 5 stars – I realized that I had yet another “same title, different song” pairing that I could put head to head in a blog post.  This one’s a little bit of a cheat, but it’s close enough for my purposes and maybe, by the time we’re through with these songs, we’ll all be a little bit more prepared for Valentine’s Day which is just around the corner.

The first contestant this go around is the 1975 Helen Reddy song “Ain’t No Way To Treat A Lady.”  This song is pretty much always on “Dan’s Favorites.”  I’ve written a lot about Helen Reddy before and how listening to her Greatest Hits album on 8-track as a kid was pretty formative for me and my overall musical tastes.  It’s pretty classic 70s soft rock, with a predictable verse/chorus/verse/chorus/bridge/verse/chorus.  At just under 3 and a half minutes, it doesn’t overstay its welcome either.  I’ve always said that the fact that an 8 year-old version of me went around the house singing “I guess it was yourself you were involved with/I would have sworn it was me” says quite a bit about me although what exactly that is I have yet to ascertain.  Proudly, I’ve caught my own child singing along to the chorus of this song, although I doubt it will end up reverberating with her as much as it did me.

The second song up for consideration is Bonnie Raitt’s “No Way To Treat A Lady.”  I’ll admit that my Bonnie Raitt knowledge is pretty much limited to her late 80s comeback Nick of Time and, especially the album  Luck of the Draw.  But somehow or another, “No Way To Treat A Lady” ended up in my iTunes and, perhaps because of the title’s similarity to the Helen Reddy song, I started to give it more than a casual listen.  Raitt’s “No Way To Treat A Lady” feels like a 70s song, albeit in a much different way than the Reddy song, but it’s actually from 1986!  And written by Bryan Adams to boot.  I don’t know, I could hear this song on the radio with songs like Suzi Quatro’s “Stumblin’ In” but not so much with late 80s fare.  Anyway, this song made “Dan’s Favorites” yesterday and I’d forgotten just how much I enjoy it.

So does Helen Reddy or Bonnie Raitt have the better song for telling all of us guys what we’re not supposed to do when dealing with the opposite sex?  This is a photo finish for me, but it’s probably Reddy by a nose, just because of longer exposure.  Vote below in the poll or let me know in the comments what you think!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

