Blog in a coma

comaIt was never my intention  to post on January 18th and then proceed to take the rest of the month off from blogging.  I guess, like so many other things in life, it just happened.  At first I felt kind of bad about it.  If there’s anything I don’t want, it’s for this nearly 10 year old blog to just stop one day as if I died and no one bothered to tell WordPress.  Then I just decided to go with it, knowing that I’d get back to it when I was feeling it.  I think part of the problem was that I just wasn’t in a “let’s share inane music/movie stuff” place and was feeling more somber and serious than what I really felt comfortable writing about here.  In the end, it was probably what was for the best.

But I’m starting to feel a little more like writing again.  This is not to say that my life has calmed down any or that all the serious and somber things that had been dogging me for the last 2-3 weeks are all resolved, but if I were to wait for that to pass, I would never write again.

I think one of the things that prompted me to start writing again was my friend Brendan over at Digital Sextant, whose blog had become a necessary casualty of his increasingly busy life started blogging out of the blue again this week.  I thought that if he can do it while juggling all he has to do, surely I can do at least a couple times a week, right?  Well, that remains to be seen, but I have a good feeling about it.

(Looking for the image to the side made me kind of want to reread that book.  It’s good to know that I remain as suggestible as always.)

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blog in a coma

  1. I bet Grey Gardens will warrant a post.

  2. Elliot says:

    Hey that busy thing – me too! I’m going for a two one week, one the next routine. I think I need the routine part as it gives me the commitment. Mind you I enjoyed my blog free time also!

    • Dan says:

      I just wish I had more ambition to write. I like concepts like “daily topics” or features, but man, I just can’t ever predict how my life is going to go from day to day. I also feel like if I’m going to blog something, it should be of some significance. This is something I need to get away from.

      • Elliot says:

        Well that is why some routine can help because if you know on the horizon you might be busy, then you are forced to come up with something in advance. – Well that’s kind of me anyway.

Leave a Reply

