Whoring for votes

I’ve done this on Facebook and Twitter, but I figured why not do it here as well.  As many of you know, I spent hours and hours Photoshopping my face into Madonna’s MDNA album cover for the cover of my year-end CD.  I even got especially brave and moved the letters around and crafted my own “C” from a “D” to spell “DANC” where it originally said “MDNA.”  My friend Matt warned me that it would be a difficult process, and damn, it was.  What was once a gorgeous album cover became something that nightmares are made of.  I think it was the red lips that push it over the edge – and for that I owe a huge debt of gratitude to my Facebook friend Holly who truly finished the project with style when my limited Photoshop skills  no longer would suffice.

sidebyside

Well anyway, I entered the finished product into Idolator’s “Recreate Your Favorite Album Cover of 2012” contest.  The grand prize is an iPad mini.  Truly, this is an inspired idea – there were so many possibilities, three of which were illustrated by Idolator editors.  After a little nudging, I risked public humiliation and did submit my MDNA cover.  I know that I’m biased, but I’ve been underwhelmed by the other entries.  And because of this, I’m asking for your vote.

Follow THIS LINK.  You’ll need to scroll down to the bottom of the page to find the entries.  Go hover over my picture and there will be a little “Vote” icon appear in the upper right hand corner.  All I have to offer in return is my undying gratitude.  And the promise to not Photoshop my face onto this, which would have been a million times more disturbing.

Madonna-Girl-Gone-Wild-single-cover-art

This entry was posted in Madonna, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whoring for votes

  1. Rachel says:

    Well I voted for you…. but the Idolator post did say that voting closed on Dec 25th, so I’m not sure it counted!

    • Dan says:

      It’s ok – if you notice it said FRIDAY December 25th which was so not this year. In any event, they still haven’t announced anything about it so I’m not exactly holding my breath. However, if I don’t win against the meager competition, it will certainly not be for lack of trying!

      Thank you for your vote!!

      • Rachel says:

        Oh, I hadn’t paid attention to the day – though Jan 25 is a Friday this year, so maybe that’s what they meant. I know I have trouble with using the correct month/year at this time of year!

Leave a Reply

